Could Use A Scend Opinion - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Could Use A Scend Opinion

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-10-2008, 12:01 AM   #1
Registered User
 
James Brothers's Avatar
 
Trade: drywall remodeling new con.
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10

Could Use A Scend Opinion


Can anyone tell me how much movement there would be in a roof at a 45 degree angle.
I’m remodeling a loft and I’ve added some walls that run parallel to the trusses. My concern is that if there is movement, the tape will peal out where the new drywall on the walls meats the old drywall on the ceiling. Normally I leave my screws some distance from any interior wall to prevent this but this time it wasn’t an option since the ceiling was already there.
Attached Thumbnails
Could use a scend opinion-drywall1.jpg   Could use a scend opinion-drywall2.jpg  
James Brothers is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-10-2008, 12:08 AM   #2
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Could Use A Scend Opinion


Looks a lot like what I did in my
attic 30 years ago, no cracks so far.
Of course it also depends on how
stiff the floor is.
That's where the pumping would
come from.

Advertisement

__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)
neolitic is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 07:56 AM   #3
Pro
 
BUTCHERMAN's Avatar
 
Trade: DRYWALL PROFESSIONAL
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: BLAKESLEE P.A
Posts: 1,031
Rewards Points: 2,392

Re: Could Use A Scend Opinion


As long as the framing wood is dry and the house is a couple years old there should be no problem. I do notice a door close to the corner. To play it safe I would run a bead of tite bond heavy duty construction adhesive down the angle and butt the wall up to it. This should lock the ceiling to the wall and solve any separation problems.
BUTCHERMAN is offline  
Old 05-10-2008, 11:31 AM   #4
Balding quickly
 
BattleRidge's Avatar
 
Trade: The big stuff!
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montana
Posts: 954
Rewards Points: 588

Re: Could Use A Scend Opinion


you can float that much 5/8s and be fine
BattleRidge is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wavy OSB roof, your opinion needed. Apt Builder Roofing 48 02-08-2008 06:23 PM
Electrical Contractors Opinion hanapaa Contractor Licensing 0 01-10-2008 01:57 PM
Any Opinion on Spacepak? By what I've seems I am convinced this will replace A.D. Const HVAC 9 08-23-2007 03:34 PM
the best exterior finish -your opinion milos Painting & Finish Work 5 03-20-2007 09:16 PM
Opinion about material pricing eXpatRioteX Construction 9 03-12-2007 01:53 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?