Best Mud For Patches? - Drywall - Contractor Talk

Best Mud For Patches?

Old 07-10-2019, 01:08 AM   #1

Trade: Plumbing

Best Mud For Patches?

I'm still new to doing patches and skimming. I did a 6x6 wall patch with 20min hot mud. I hate hot mud because it dries out way too quick while I'm patching. I went out and bought West Pac, all purpose joint compound. I feel like I bought the wrong one and should of bought the green lid. Is the red top good for skimming and patch repairs with mesh? Or Is it better to go out and buy the green lid?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-10-2019, 03:27 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Workaholic
Rewards Points: 2,358

Re: Best Mud For Patches?

No you got the right one. all purpose joint compound is what you want for a basic repair.
20min mud is not easy to use.

Advertisement

Old 07-10-2019, 06:00 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: Handyman Services
Rewards Points: 13,525

Quote:
Originally Posted by LVMONT View Post
I'm still new to doing patches and skimming. I did a 6x6 wall patch with 20min hot mud. I hate hot mud because it dries out way too quick while I'm patching. I went out and bought West Pac, all purpose joint compound. I feel like I bought the wrong one and should of bought the green lid. Is the red top good for skimming and patch repairs with mesh? Or Is it better to go out and buy the green lid?
After a few more under your belt, you'll want the hot mud. 20 min is plenty. fibafuse tape is good stuff.

Last edited by MarkJames; 07-10-2019 at 06:02 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to MarkJames For This Useful Post:
Seven-Delta-FortyOne (07-12-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement