Ready Mix Concrete Question - Masonry - Contractor Talk

Ready Mix Concrete Question

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-24-2008, 01:45 PM   #1
 
highpeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25

Ready Mix Concrete Question


I need a little less than a yard of concrete for some footings that we are placing a basement for some lally columns. Rather than mixing 40 bags by hand or machine, my local concrete plant will deliver 1 yard to me.
How can I store it when they deliver it. There is no direct access to pour it into the basement. I was thinking about crafting a make-shift plywood container, lined with 4-6mil plastic. They could put the ready mix into there. Then via bucket carry it down to basement.

Would appreciate any ideas
highpeaks is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 07-24-2008, 02:30 PM   #2
 
Justbuilding's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 61
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


I suggest you get a line pump, and pump it. A few hundred dollars well spent versus time spent making some bs storage box and moving several hundred lbs of concrete downstairs.
You couldn't pay me enough to do that by hand.

Advertisement

Justbuilding is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 02:39 PM   #3
Pro
 
genecarp's Avatar
 
Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,425
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


pick up a buggy, only move the concrete once
__________________
genecarp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2008, 02:58 PM   #4
 
BrickieWannaBe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Line pump for sure!
We just poured 30 yards in a industrial plant and we used a line pump. Works great!
I used one to pour the last brick ledge I did around a house. Much easier than hauling concrete by hand or bobcat....

I vote for a line pump as well....

N
BrickieWannaBe is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 03:18 PM   #5
Pro
 
TimelessQuality's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central America (Kansas)
Posts: 4,732
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Build a chute through a window or egress... Gravity is your friend
__________________
-Steve

'It takes considerable knowledge just to realize the extent of your own ignorance.'-Thomas Sowell
TimelessQuality is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 03:24 PM   #6
 
highpeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Just to clarify, we're pouring 1 footing 2' x 8' x 15" deep and a slab 2x8x4"
So I actually need less than 1 YD of concrete

There is no egress window accessible for a truck to pour directly into basement. I could use some wheel barrows and bring to window, drop in chute, and then move a third time in basement to slab and footing site.

Will a ready mix company supply a line pump for that little concrete.

Maybe I should just setup up my 5 CU mixer in basement, and drop the bags through the window via a shoot, and mix it myself
highpeaks is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 03:27 PM   #7
Pro
 
genecarp's Avatar
 
Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,425
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


buggy, last time
__________________
genecarp is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:08 PM   #8
Pro
 
CJKarl's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ivoryton CT
Posts: 4,289
Rewards Points: 3,926

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


I think an 80lb bag of premix concrete is = to 1 cu.ft.
So if you need even a yard, that would be 27 bags. My tiny electric barrel mixer will easily do 2 bags at a time. That might be the way to go.
__________________
There's Always A Market For Quality
http://www.kaufmannmasonry.com/
CJKarl is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:25 PM   #9
 
Rybit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Yep, 27 bags is only nine mixes in a wheel barrell. One hour job with a helper.,,, er, hmm, wait re-reading this you are in a finished home, so that would be 27 bags down a flight of steps too. Close call, I'd probably mix it by hand. Whats the delivered yard cost?
Rybit is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:48 PM   #10
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Here none of the redimix outfits
waive the minimum for anyone.
(Well I'm sure if you're doing
a stadium or high rise )
Any way it's 4cy minimum,
plus a fuel surcharge.
I can pay myself a very nice
hourly to mix a yard.
(It adds up to 26.56 cf, and
I think it's .67cf per bag)
__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)
neolitic is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:57 PM   #11
Pro
 
dkillianjr's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction and Remodeling
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 3,402
Rewards Points: 2,464

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


I would just mix it by hand or rent a small mixer, heck just buy one of those cheap electric mixers. The most I ever mixed was 60 bags 2 at a time in a wheelbarrow, next time I will rent a mixer!



Dave
dkillianjr is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:03 PM   #12
 
highpeaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


My local concrete yard that I deal with will deliver 1 CY for $185 total.
I thought that it was a great deal considering the labor attached to 27 bags. The only issue was moving it, and moving it fast before it started to setup.

Sounds like a catch 22. I might finanlly bite the bullet a buy a mixer. Just didn't want to buy a crapy one, but didn't want to spend thousands. Need an electric one if Im working indoors. Any suggestions?
highpeaks is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:15 PM   #13
New and Remodel Carpentry
 
cooks's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Remodelor
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 93
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


depending on what your exterior of the house is you can pull siding and cut out a section of the band board that is in between two joists. build a simply chute as mentioned earlier and wheel it over to pour spot. Done it many a times and works pretty slick. Used to pour whole basement floors this way when there was no access to the basement.
cooks is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 08:41 PM   #14
Pro
 
Tscarborough's Avatar
 
Trade: Monkey Scratching Cat Herder
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 6,344
Rewards Points: 1,456

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


An 80# bag of regular concrete mix is .66 cubic foot. A CuYd would therefore be about a pallet, 42 bags.

I only mix 2 at a time in a wheelbarrow, and use my baby mixer for anything over 6 or 8 bags.

I would rent a baby electric mixer and pissant the bags downstairs. I would also use Maximizer, which is 1 CuFt per 80# bag. 28 instead of 42, and still mixing at 2 bags per batch.
Tscarborough is offline  
Old 07-24-2008, 09:21 PM   #15
Pro
 
cleveman's Avatar
 
Trade: custom home building
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 2,836
Rewards Points: 2,624

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


mix it on the floor as close as possible to your pour.
cleveman is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 06:16 AM   #16
Pro
 
CJKarl's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ivoryton CT
Posts: 4,289
Rewards Points: 3,926

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tscarborough View Post
An 80# bag of regular concrete mix is .66 cubic foot. A CuYd would therefore be about a pallet, 42 bags.

I only mix 2 at a time in a wheelbarrow, and use my baby mixer for anything over 6 or 8 bags.

I would rent a baby electric mixer and pissant the bags downstairs. I would also use Maximizer, which is 1 CuFt per 80# bag. 28 instead of 42, and still mixing at 2 bags per batch.
Whats Maximizer?
__________________
There's Always A Market For Quality
http://www.kaufmannmasonry.com/
CJKarl is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 06:20 AM   #17
Pro
 
genecarp's Avatar
 
Trade: LI,NY designer, new homes, renovation work, concre
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 5,425
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by CJKarl View Post
Whats Maximizer?

there are diff names, but i think he is refering to a product that allows you to reduce the water content, it also increaes the flow rate and general strenth due to the decreased water content.
__________________
genecarp is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 06:50 AM   #18
Pro
 
TimelessQuality's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central America (Kansas)
Posts: 4,732
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


I think 'maximizer' is a high yield premix sack product...I think it's a sakrete product.


edit- Here it is..
http://www.maximizer.cc/english/products.htm
__________________
-Steve

'It takes considerable knowledge just to realize the extent of your own ignorance.'-Thomas Sowell

Last edited by TimelessQuality; 07-25-2008 at 06:56 AM.
TimelessQuality is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 06:58 AM   #19
Pro
 
TimelessQuality's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Central America (Kansas)
Posts: 4,732
Rewards Points: 1,730

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by genecarp View Post
buggy, last time
'splain please? Georgia buggy? down stairs?
__________________
-Steve

'It takes considerable knowledge just to realize the extent of your own ignorance.'-Thomas Sowell
TimelessQuality is offline  
Old 07-25-2008, 10:03 AM   #20
Pro
 
Tscarborough's Avatar
 
Trade: Monkey Scratching Cat Herder
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 6,344
Rewards Points: 1,456

Re: Ready Mix Concrete Question


Maximizer uses lightweight aggregate. It is good stuff.

Advertisement

Tscarborough is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
deck footings question? haskl33 Decks & Fencing 8 06-12-2008 02:44 PM
Sewer Infrastructure Question ABLE1 Excavation & Site Work 20 05-28-2008 10:05 AM
Lightweight concrete question Snood Flooring 7 03-04-2008 10:32 PM
Mortar Bedding for Stone on Concrete Question. lukachuki Masonry 10 05-26-2007 09:09 PM
Question regarding concrete roofing tiles. Oregon_Rob Roofing 3 01-16-2006 09:58 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?