Re Laying A Firebox - Masonry - Contractor Talk

Re Laying A Firebox

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2016, 11:57 PM   #1
Pro
 
DLynch0009's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 137
Rewards Points: 306

Re Laying A Firebox


I have a fireplace in my basement I tend to burn wood in pretty much all fall and winter. Whenever the temperature requires it anyways. The room is a finished room under my garage, which has a suspended slab. The fire brick in the fire box are loose and need to be taken out and replaced and re laid. I'm a carpenter by trade but since I can lay tile I naturally have an unwarranted confidence that I can lay it myself. I know deep down that is not the case. My question is should I attempt this (I think the risks outweigh the money I'd save when dealing with fire). Or is it not that big of a deal and I should give it a shot? Fire brick seems pretty expensive for a rookie trial run.
DLynch0009 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-25-2016, 07:02 AM   #2
Pro
 
brickhook's Avatar
 
Trade: masonry
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Claudville Va
Posts: 3,600
Rewards Points: 7,586

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


If you believe you can lay it, give it a try. If you dont do a good job, you can always redo it.

I have to say though, a firebox might not be the easiest thing to lay if you haven't ever laid brick. If I was you, I'd just hire a good mason to come by one day and lay it back in. It's hard to beat someone at their own game.

Good Luck! Post some pictures

Advertisement


Last edited by brickhook; 11-25-2016 at 07:04 AM.
brickhook is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to brickhook For This Useful Post:
fjn (11-25-2016)
Old 11-25-2016, 10:46 AM   #3
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


If you do it, get some heatstop50 from a brickyard, mix 20oz or so, a small amount, at a time. Lay the bricks with either a margin or tuck point trowel.

To get the sidewall angles lay them out like this, you could put them the other way so you dont have so many courses as well. The bottom number is 17.5" make the top 14". Left is right , right is left.

JBM is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to JBM For This Useful Post:
Rio (11-25-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-25-2016, 10:48 AM   #4
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


I have a cheapo mitre saw with a 10" diamond blade. I cut the angles so I can run a brick past them, otherwise the corners dont rest on much, makes a crappy line sometimes.
JBM is offline  
Old 11-25-2016, 10:48 AM   #5
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Use the seams in the plywood to keep it square, for anyone with plywood
JBM is offline  
Old 11-25-2016, 12:44 PM   #6
Pro
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Trade: Engineer
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 200

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


On top of the firebox is the throat and on top of the throat are the flue liners. That's a tremendous amount of weight. You can't just remove and rebuild the firebox. You're going to have a disaster on your hands.

What is the problem you are trying to fix?
Can you post a picture of your problem?
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS LightLock Astronomical Timers
www.GPSLightLock.com
(239) 848-6675
MikeFL is offline  
Old 11-25-2016, 02:31 PM   #7
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


I took a firebox out wed, actually.
JBM is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to JBM For This Useful Post:
freddie smith (12-06-2016)
Old 11-25-2016, 02:33 PM   #8
Smarter than the brick...
 
Kniggit's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 298
Rewards Points: 561

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Uhm, when I build a firebox the throat doesn't sit on the firebox.
Kniggit is offline  
Old 11-26-2016, 08:39 AM   #9
Pro
 
MikeFL's Avatar
 
Trade: Engineer
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Fort Myers, FL
Posts: 185
Rewards Points: 200

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kniggit View Post
Uhm, when I build a firebox the throat doesn't sit on the firebox.
Are you laying a solid 4 behind the box and building a 4" throat on that?
__________________
Michael Gookin, President
GPS LightLock Astronomical Timers
www.GPSLightLock.com
(239) 848-6675
MikeFL is offline  
Old 11-26-2016, 03:46 PM   #10
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Here is what im working on. It was actually a raised hearth too, had to remove 2" of concrete. Not fun.
Attached Thumbnails
Re laying a firebox-4e37bcd3-bdd2-4184-b203-0e0de63b06e6.jpg  
JBM is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to JBM For This Useful Post:
Fouthgeneration (12-01-2016)
Old 11-26-2016, 05:06 PM   #11
Renaissance Man
 
superseal's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry, Carpentry and everything else.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 6,818
Rewards Points: 5,846

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFL View Post
On top of the firebox is the throat and on top of the throat are the flue liners. That's a tremendous amount of weight. You can't just remove and rebuild the firebox. You're going to have a disaster on your hands.

What is the problem you are trying to fix?
Can you post a picture of your problem?
And that advice is worth the price he paid for it. Masons like JB and I routinely rip out out fireboxes and re-build them...might wanna polish up your book smarts before posting ignorant information.
__________________
"Under promise, over deliver and all that!" JBM
supersealconstruction.com

https://www.facebook.com/Superseal-C...2699413750013/
superseal is offline  
Old 11-30-2016, 07:15 PM   #12
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Might as well show completed pics, nothing amazing for sure, but bread and butter work.
Attached Thumbnails
Re laying a firebox-1ec1abf1-0036-4629-93bb-8dea08150a6a.jpg   Re laying a firebox-7dfce7af-7a4b-4321-98f1-1d416f4fadc6-1-.jpg  
JBM is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to JBM For This Useful Post:
AustinDB (11-30-2016), fjn (11-30-2016), Fouthgeneration (12-01-2016), superseal (11-30-2016)
Old 11-30-2016, 07:36 PM   #13
Member
 
WBCarpentry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 212

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Look good. I'd be proud of that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
WBCarpentry is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to WBCarpentry For This Useful Post:
JBM (11-30-2016)
Old 12-01-2016, 09:26 PM   #14
Pro
 
Fouthgeneration's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Middle
Posts: 2,636
Rewards Points: 9,539

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


JBM, your picture posted @ 10 above has given me another possibility to investigate on a smokey three flue chimney in a large farm house, I never considered, too save space, the original masons omitting a wythe of brick/block around the flue by-passing the higher fire box(es) as done in your photo.

Thanks for the posts and pictures, I'll post after New Years on the smokey farm flue, I am trying out a smart phone/ flue inspection camera cobble...
Fouthgeneration is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Fouthgeneration For This Useful Post:
JBM (12-02-2016)
Old 12-01-2016, 09:37 PM   #15
Renaissance Man
 
superseal's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry, Carpentry and everything else.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 6,818
Rewards Points: 5,846

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


J, looks like a fat joint for heatstop...you using regular mud on that one?

Turned out nice btw...
__________________
"Under promise, over deliver and all that!" JBM
supersealconstruction.com

https://www.facebook.com/Superseal-C...2699413750013/
superseal is offline  
Old 12-02-2016, 06:50 PM   #16
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,661
Rewards Points: 10,920

Re: Re Laying A Firebox


Nah it was heatstop, but I kicked it in on a Sat, roughed in and driving away by 12. I paid for it when I sponged it though, smeared a bit.

Advertisement

JBM is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dry Pack for laying porcelain tile on exterior patio Kyong Tiling 9 07-31-2019 11:37 AM
Learning curve laying block dielectricunion Masonry 29 08-01-2014 07:15 AM
Kiva Fireplace Firebox Expansion Question frankwil Masonry 4 03-05-2014 08:02 AM
Laying treads... Rich D. Masonry 16 10-01-2013 02:46 PM
Soapstone firebox EC Craftsman Masonry Picture Post 6 05-22-2013 10:08 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?