One Step Into Garage - Masonry - Contractor Talk

One Step Into Garage

Old 07-24-2019, 04:32 PM   #1

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 12

One Step Into Garage

Hey Everybody,

I am a new builder and I am looking for guidance on how I can achieve a single step into the main floor of a house from the garage slab. I have been in multiple houses in my area (including my own) that have a single +-6" step up into the garage.

I would like to achieve this on the next house that I build, but I'm not sure of the best way to accomplish it. The way I see it, I will have to provide bearing for the garage slab at the top course of block and then pour against the rim joist. This makes me uncomfortable for some reason. If I were going to do this, I would cover the joist in ice guard and provide some sort of expansion before I poured against the joist.

Has anybody done this before? Any recommendations? I should also note that I am planning on using superior wall for the foundation, which may or may not make this situation more difficult.

Thanks!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-24-2019, 05:56 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: builder fl cbc
Rewards Points: 652

Re: One Step Into Garage

I need a beer I read this 3 times "into", "onto", "upto", life was a hole lot easier when I measured once and cut twice.

Advertisement

Calidecks (07-24-2019), greg24k (07-24-2019), griz (07-24-2019), Navigatorgt (07-25-2019)
Old 07-24-2019, 06:00 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Handyman Services
Rewards Points: 14,053

Quote:
Originally Posted by sunkist View Post