Mortar Mix Recipe - Masonry - Contractor Talk

Mortar Mix Recipe

Old 03-26-2019, 08:46 AM   #1

Trade: Carpenter
Rewards Points: 40

Mortar Mix Recipe

Hi everyone, carpenter by trade, this work is some side work for my sister.

I'd like to understand why using masonry cement like Leigh brand they recommend 3-1 mix, but if you use portland, its 1 port, 1 lime, 6 sand.

Someone help me understand this? Oh, and the 1-1-6 comes right out of the BIA standards. As well I've seen it spec'd in other places.

Back story below.

Anyways we were going to do some re-pointing of the from of the house. Actually the whole from...why...well changed some lintels and cracked brick and some other pointing and it came out great. Even got a halfway descent color match...but you can still see it. Now some might say well a good mason could match...but in this house it would be hard. The house is 1950s vintage, and what they used was some big sand granules...I'd say concrete sand, but boy some granules are even bigger than what you would normally see, there is also a lot of black color granules, and just lots of granules exposed I guess from 70 years of weather.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 03-26-2019, 09:24 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Concrete/Masonry
Rewards Points: 530

Re: Mortar Mix Recipe

So lets pretend you are doing a 50/50 mix of lime/portland and you pre-batch it. That 1:1:6 would turn into 1:3 using the pre-batch.

Advertisement

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NYCB For This Useful Post:
Fouthgeneration (03-27-2019), hdavis (03-26-2019)
Old 03-26-2019, 09:59 AM   #3