Live Wires From Box.... - Masonry - Contractor Talk

Live Wires From Box....

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
Pro
 
6stringmason's Avatar
 
Trade: masonry
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 2,368
Rewards Points: 1,136

Live Wires From Box....


What do you guys do when you come across live wires sticking out of a box in the wall while your put up brick or stone? The wires arent capped or taped, and you find out its live by getting a jolt and watching your trowel fly.

Me, I fill the box in with mud. The electricians love that
__________________
Kamps Masonry 920-680-3195
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Kamps...31566206923069
Visit our website @
http://www.concretecountertopsdesign.com/
6stringmason is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to 6stringmason For This Useful Post:
brickhook (04-18-2013)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 04-18-2013, 08:54 PM   #2
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 25,693
Rewards Points: 4,108

Re: Live Wires From Box....


Quote:
Originally Posted by 6stringmason View Post
What do you guys do when you come across live wires sticking out of a box in the wall while your put up brick or stone? The wires arent capped or taped, and you find out its live by getting a jolt and watching your trowel fly.

Me, I fill the box in with mud. The electricians love that
Touch the black and white together.

Advertisement

__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
Cole82 (04-20-2013), WarriorWithWood (04-20-2013)
Old 04-18-2013, 09:16 PM   #3
Pro
 
brickhook's Avatar
 
Trade: masonry
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Claudville Va
Posts: 3,599
Rewards Points: 7,584

Re: Live Wires From Box....


Quote:
Originally Posted by 6stringmason View Post
What do you guys do when you come across live wires sticking out of a box in the wall while your put up brick or stone? The wires arent capped or taped, and you find out its live by getting a jolt and watching your trowel fly.

Me, I fill the box in with mud. The electricians love that
You got that right bud! Just last week, grabbed a hold of some hot wires! I fussed at the sparky, and he said, "it don't suppose to be hot"
brickhook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-19-2013, 03:06 PM   #4
Pro
 
NYCB's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete/Masonry
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,668
Rewards Points: 400

Re: Live Wires From Box....


I wait until someone is watching and then pretend to touch them.

Then start to convulse and yell like you are dying.

Always gets at least one guy moving.
NYCB is offline  
Old 04-19-2013, 03:11 PM   #5
Pro
 
jomama's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete & masonry
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 897
Rewards Points: 166

Re: Live Wires From Box....


The first thing I usually do is get shocked for real, drop my trowel, and get angry that I have to crawl down the scaffold to get my trowel once again.......
jomama is offline  
Old 04-19-2013, 05:36 PM   #6
Pro
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Trade: siding
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 17,271
Rewards Points: 20

Re: Live Wires From Box....


they make testers..

little light type things..
__________________
Tom
Tom Struble is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom Struble For This Useful Post:
JesseCocozza (04-20-2013)
Old 04-19-2013, 05:39 PM   #7
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 25,693
Rewards Points: 4,108

Re: Live Wires From Box....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Struble View Post
they make testers..

little light type things..
480 doesn't approve of tickers...just give em the short test.
__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
Tom Struble (04-19-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 11:13 AM   #8
Pro
 
stacker's Avatar
 
Trade: masonry
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: alva,oklahoma
Posts: 1,223
Rewards Points: 542

Re: Live Wires From Box....


the 1st thing i do is to make my laborer check them to make sure they are hot.then i have him push them into the box.i hate live wires.
__________________
life is short,do your masonry naked!!
http://ok.local.yahoo.biz/knabemasonry/index.html
stacker is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to stacker For This Useful Post:
brickhook (04-20-2013)
Old 04-20-2013, 09:55 PM   #9
Tech Geek
 
WarriorWithWood's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling Guru
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Feasterville, Pa.
Posts: 2,630
Rewards Points: 1,354

Re: Live Wires From Box....


Touch them together then cut them off flush to where they enter the box, that'll teach that damn electrician.

Advertisement

__________________
-Dennis
WarriorWithWood is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
no wires to house...how can this be done... Pennyroyal's Technology 25 11-28-2011 10:28 AM
Live Chat on your Website! Rob Pankow Marketing & Sales 16 12-29-2010 05:13 PM
When working live Irishslave Electrical 5 07-31-2010 12:52 AM
Stretching wires 18 inches? Mike Finley Electrical 34 11-30-2006 07:35 AM
Number of wires in switch box remoguy Electrical 1 11-16-2006 10:02 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?