Bond Beam Blocks - Masonry - Contractor Talk

Bond Beam Blocks

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2019, 09:16 PM   #1
Registered User
 
CMU85's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 1

Bond Beam Blocks


Has anyone ever constructed a cmu foundation with bond beam blocks for every course? Are there any potential pitfalls to this method, besides being costly.
CMU85 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 05-01-2019, 09:49 PM   #2
Goin' Down in Flames....
 
Seven-Delta-FortyOne's Avatar
 
Trade: Highwayman
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Somewhere Between Heaven And Hell
Posts: 3,758
Rewards Points: 1,932

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Yes, I have.

Nothing wrong with it.

Last one I built has bond beams every other course, because there is rebar in every other course horizontally, and every other cell got a stick.

And then some extra in a few places.

And then fully grouted.

Advertisement

__________________
Get Off My Lawn.

"There are no big projects. There are only small machines". - R. G. LeTourneau
Seven-Delta-FortyOne is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Seven-Delta-FortyOne For This Useful Post:
fjn (05-02-2019)
Old 05-02-2019, 03:23 PM   #3
Pro
 
Windycity's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,976
Rewards Points: 7,872

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Quote:
Originally Posted by CMU85 View Post
Has anyone ever constructed a cmu foundation with bond beam blocks for every course? Are there any potential pitfalls to this method, besides being costly.


Why?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Windycity is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2019, 11:58 AM   #4
Pro
 
NYCB's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete/Masonry
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,645
Rewards Points: 342

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


At that point you might as well just do a poured wall or ICF and get a better end product.
NYCB is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to NYCB For This Useful Post:
rustyjames (05-03-2019)
Old 05-03-2019, 04:18 PM   #5
Pro
 
Fishindude's Avatar
 
Trade: Industrial
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Indiana
Posts: 371
Rewards Points: 788

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Why wouldn't you just use line blocks made for this application?
You won't be able to do any vertical rebar in grouted cores using bond beams.
Fishindude is offline  
Old 05-03-2019, 05:42 PM   #6
Pro
 
fjn's Avatar
 
Trade: mason
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,937
Rewards Points: 10,386

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishindude View Post
Why wouldn't you just use line blocks made for this application?
You won't be able to do any vertical rebar in grouted cores using bond beams.


???? and why not ? I think you are confusing bond beam block with lintel block.
fjn is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to fjn For This Useful Post:
Seven-Delta-FortyOne (05-03-2019)
Old 05-04-2019, 10:13 PM   #7
Pro
 
Tscarborough's Avatar
 
Trade: Monkey Scratching Cat Herder
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin
Posts: 6,341
Rewards Points: 1,450

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


RSBB AKA Knockout Bond Beams.

https://elstonmaterials.com/product/...low-through-2/

They cost a little more, but for a solid grouted wall, the way to go.
Tscarborough is offline  
Old 05-04-2019, 11:07 PM   #8
Pro
 
Windycity's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 1,976
Rewards Points: 7,872

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tscarborough View Post
RSBB AKA Knockout Bond Beams.

https://elstonmaterials.com/product/...low-through-2/

They cost a little more, but for a solid grouted wall, the way to go.


I only made it to the part that said 12 inch on your block link before i promptly closed that page and started running away and promising myself to never ever look at that page again


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by Windycity; 05-04-2019 at 11:11 PM.
Windycity is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Windycity For This Useful Post:
bytor (05-05-2019)
Old 05-05-2019, 06:00 PM   #9
Pro
 
JBM's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mass.
Posts: 7,598
Rewards Points: 8,850

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Nothing wrong with it perse aside from a waste of money.
JBM is offline  
Old 05-05-2019, 09:33 PM   #10
Pro
 
Fouthgeneration's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mid west
Posts: 2,222
Rewards Points: 7,945

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Your design team is silly: far better than solid walls are the same amount of concrete and grout and rebar USING A WIDER CMUS... Price the 12" or even 14" Units, grouted every 16 or 24" with TWO smaller bars adjacent to the faces....each 12" cell takes 200% the grout a 8" cell takes, more or less...

if you need to get the steel to concrete % higher for Uber wall loads, use 3/16" ths dura-wall Ladder wire(grouts far easier) every course, INCLUDING BOND BEAMS.

Pilasters would be another technique to cheapen the wall up and still meet strength demands.

What ever you do, make sure the footings are equal to the loads the wall imposes on them.

If you must grout solid, just cut your own "Calfornia" bond beams with the demo saw, cut a layer of a cube at time during handling.

All block basements I've done recently have 2 Bond beams top or second from top in an underpin, and a continuous bond beam below the egress window.

I wouldn't use any plastic insulation inside my house, ever...

Double up on the outside, use the weight of masonry/concrete for "thermal Mass",
__________________
I might be an Idiot, but I know things that You don't: Please wait till after you get my know-how to insult me....
Fouthgeneration is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 06:34 AM   #11
Pro
 
NYCB's Avatar
 
Trade: Concrete/Masonry
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 1,645
Rewards Points: 342

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fouthgeneration View Post

What ever you do, make sure the footings are equal to the loads the wall imposes on them.
Aren't block footers usually the same spec as poured wall footers?

At least as deep as wall thickness and at least 3x as wide?
NYCB is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 10:13 AM   #12
Pro
 
fjn's Avatar
 
Trade: mason
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,937
Rewards Points: 10,386

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Quote:
Originally Posted by NYCB View Post
Aren't block footers usually the same spec as poured wall footers?

At least as deep as wall thickness and at least 3x as wide?



This raises an interesting question. From what I read,the proposed building loads along with the soil bearing capacity dictates the footing thickness and width in relation to wall width. A common rule in N.W. Indiana is footings should be as thick as wall is wide and twice the wall width. Can't remember where I read it,however,in some cases,footings can actually be too wide if the ratio is ignored. Kinda like loading the center of a 2 "x 4" one 4' long and the other 16' long with the same weight. The 16' will crack sooner.
fjn is offline  
Old 05-10-2019, 10:19 AM   #13
Pro
 
fjn's Avatar
 
Trade: mason
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 4,937
Rewards Points: 10,386

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


This article speaks to the possibility of a footing being too wide if the ratio is not followed.

http://www.home-building-answers.com/footing.html
fjn is offline  
Old 05-12-2019, 07:52 AM   #14
Pro
 
Fouthgeneration's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mid west
Posts: 2,222
Rewards Points: 7,945

Re: Bond Beam Blocks


Any footing I design/poor that has a veneer masonry starts at 20" wide by 10 "...

Around here, with out a soil test, your are looking at only 1.5KIPS a square foot of bearing, where 30 years ago it was "assumed" at least 2.5KIPS a square foot.


There is no sense in using a super duty load bearing element then resting it on doubled up Osb stapled together.

In a more perfect world the width and depth of the footings would vary to match the dead and live loads imposed directly above to reduce differential settlement

Advertisement

__________________
I might be an Idiot, but I know things that You don't: Please wait till after you get my know-how to insult me....
Fouthgeneration is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Post to Beam to Cover Vinson Decks & Fencing 12 05-18-2016 10:00 AM
Typical beam span [email protected] General Discussion 24 07-30-2014 08:07 PM
Advice on Removing Large Beam? (Residential) markavelli Construction 26 05-26-2013 12:04 AM
Updating main beam in century-home: end. bob_cntrctr Framing 8 02-07-2008 04:04 PM
form bond beam bobbrown Masonry 8 09-11-2006 06:54 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?