4' CMU Retaining Wall. - Masonry - Contractor Talk

4' CMU Retaining Wall.

Old 07-15-2009, 08:12 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Outdoor D/B
Rewards Points: 1,028

4' CMU Retaining Wall.

I am interested in building a 4' tall cmu retaining wall on a project. I have a engineered drawing for a similar wall that we did not build. The engineer is calling for a T footing. The botton of the footing is 4' down. Frost line here is 3.5'. Then he wants 2' of the cmu below grade. Then 4' above grade. I have never built a masonry retaining wall before. But it seems to alittle odd to me to have 6' of concrete below grade.

Does this seem right or does the engineer have no idea what hes doing? There are no extrodinary surcharges on this wall either.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-15-2009, 09:02 PM   #2
Contractor

Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Professional Painter!
Rewards Points: 926

Re: 4' CMU Retaining Wall.

As you describe it, it makes perfect sense to me.

The only thing missing is a sh*t load of rebar.

Advertisement

www.gebcon.com
Old 07-15-2009, 09:07 PM   #3
Pro

Trade: Outdoor D/B
Rewards Points: 1,028

LOL yea there is a ****load of rebar in it
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-15-2009, 09:27 PM   #4
Chief outhouse engineer

Trade: mason
Rewards Points: 786

Not so sure I would go with 4" no matter how much rebar you put in it. And most 4's would need to be punctured on the top since the core is almost always filled in at the top.

Strength wise a 6 or 8" would be much stronger and stable for a small increase in cost.

I would put dead man anchors in also for frost heave.
2. Repeat as often as needed.