Place For Young Or Beginning Contractors! - Site Feedback and Suggestions - Contractor Talk

Place For Young Or Beginning Contractors!

Old 11-03-2008, 05:12 PM   #1

Trade: Home Improvement
Rewards Points: 25

Place For Young Or Beginning Contractors!

I am a young carpenter that is running his own Home Improvement / Contracting business and I feel that this site needs a place for others like me to get advice. Most of the guys posting on this site are experienced veterans, and I like that; problem is that they get very annoyed when someone asks basic questions. It is not even so much that they get annoyed as it is that they then start badmouthing the person for asking such a "stupid" question. That has to turn alot of guys off, I know it does me. I think we should have a place where younger guys just getting into the trade, or experienced veterans who dont mind answering some basic questions can hang out. Somewhere that the experienced guys can act as mentors and the younger guys can help each other out. Let me know what you think.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 11-03-2008, 05:22 PM   #2
Professional Instigator

Trade: Design Build Remodeling Contractor DC MD
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Place For Young Or Beginning Contractors!

I think your suggestion has merit and might be a very good idea

The thing is the way some of the questions are asked are clearly asking for punishment

There was no internet when we started in the trades you actually learned on the job not by someone giving you the answer.

Practice/learning by doing is better than some tell you how it is to be done?