Intro... MD - New Member Introductions - Contractor Talk

Intro... MD

Old 01-24-2011, 02:37 PM   #1

Trade: Design
Rewards Points: 10

Intro... MD

Hey everyone. My name is Samantha. I have a degree in architecture and worked in that field for 5 years before jumping ship and working as an assistant PM for a GC. Due to family issues i had to leave

Now i am a stay at home mom in the process of starting my own design and consultation company. If you could point me in the best direction it would be greatly appreciated. Im looking into the laws and requirments of what my scope can be seeing as i am not licensed as an architect yet. This mean i cant stamp drawings yet. Im working on this but in the mean time i want to get a company started. I live in MD and plan on starting in the local Harford County area.

Again thanks for any help.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-24-2011, 02:46 PM   #2
Builder/Remodeler

Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Rewards Points: 2,066

Re: Intro... MD

Welcome to CT Samantha.

In my area, you do not have to have an architect's stamp for renovations/remodeling but that might not be the case in your area.

There are a few contractors here from the DC/Maryland area who might be able to give you better insight on what you can do locally. I'll see if I can't get one of them to weigh in.

Best of luck to you.

Advertisement

Old 01-24-2011, 02:53 PM   #3