Hello! From A New And Slightly Concerned Carpenter - New Member Introductions - Contractor Talk

Hello! From A New And Slightly Concerned Carpenter

Old 05-31-2014, 11:44 PM   #1

Trade: Apprentice Carpenter
Rewards Points: 6

Hello! From A New And Slightly Concerned Carpenter

Hello all! I'm a new apprentice carpenter from Canada, hoping to get some advice from the experienced pros, especially if you've worked with a few new guys.

My apprenticeship required a year of trade school, which went really well for me. In terms of work quality I was always near the top of the class, and in terms of speed I was usually somewhere around the middle, neither the fastest nor the slowest.

I've now been officially on the job for about three weeks, and I'm finding myself very discouraged by speed requirements. This is my first professional carpentry work, so to be honest, I don't really know what's expected of an apprentice with little to no experience. For example, on my second day we were installing wood siding. I was cutting the siding to length and painting the cuts for two journeymen who were installing it. Even though I was working as fast as I could I kept getting told that I couldn't let them run out of material, I had to go faster, it wasn't time to stand around and scratch my rear end, etc.

I knew from the start it was going to be tough work, and I'm fine with that. I also understand that to be profitable a team has to work diligently, but with my skill set am I supposed to be as fast as a journeyman in my first couple of weeks? I enjoy and understand the subject matter, but the constant stress and rush, rush, rush makes me feel incompetent. I looked forward to every day of trade school, but now I dread every day of work. Is this an indication that I'm going to make a lousy carpenter? Should I get out now?