1 Ton Diesel Reviews.. - Vehicles - Contractor Talk

1 Ton Diesel Reviews..

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-09-2014, 05:20 PM   #1
Registered User
 
brayconst's Avatar
 
Trade: General Engineering Contractor
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Paso Robles, Ca
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 18

1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Hey Fellas,

Were looking to add another truck into the fleet and was wondering what your guys takes were on other manufacturers. We have always been Ford since I can remember, but these 6.0 have been bending us over the barrel. We have two of em in the fleet. '05 and '06. So We're leaning towards the Dodge 4500 or 5500 since we have several smaller pieces of equipment we transport from job to job, but would like to hear from other dodge owners. Also not ruling our GMC or Chevy so would also love input from them too.

Thanks
Jack
brayconst is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-09-2014, 05:23 PM   #2
Contractor of the Month
 
Inner10's Avatar
 
Trade: Control Systems
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 25,695
Rewards Points: 4,112

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Jack I really don't think you wanna open this can of worms. Just buy whatever you can get a good deal on.

Advertisement

__________________
The Following User Says Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post: Leo G
Inner10 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Inner10 For This Useful Post:
A&E Exteriors (06-09-2014), Red Adobe (06-17-2014)
Old 06-09-2014, 05:49 PM   #3
Pro
 
NCMCarpentry's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 585
Rewards Points: 860

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Hey hey I'm very happy with my 05 5.9l cummins and like to let people know every chance I get... Have spent some time behind the wheel of a newer 6.7 too and it was very nice as well. Just much harder on fuel and too much emissions BS
NCMCarpentry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-09-2014, 06:18 PM   #4
I'm The BOSS
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Trade: builder / remodeler
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Spencer, Ma
Posts: 1,904
Rewards Points: 4,733

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


MY truck 06 gmc 1 ton reg cab 8ft bed
duramax 6.6l love this truck , no problems 80 k miles.
have two 6.5 gmc diesels also, no complaints

I believe all the new models, all manufacturers, have an emission cleaner that's a pain in the azz.
__________________
We'll give your home a NEW IMAGE
New Image Construction & Design
New image Construction.com
Facebook
jaydee is offline  
Old 06-09-2014, 07:43 PM   #5
Pro
 
TimNJ's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,007
Rewards Points: 4,494

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


http://www.rv.net/forum/index.cfm/fu...s/forum/41.cfm


There is a lot of positive talk about new Ram Dually with HO Cummins paired with Aisin trans.
Link above is for RV forum. If you want to know about towing it's a good place to start.
TimNJ is offline  
Old 06-09-2014, 08:11 PM   #6
Renaissance Man
 
superseal's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry, Carpentry and everything else.
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 6,805
Rewards Points: 5,816

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I got colleagues who had the notorious 6.0,...tainted them badly with Ford

Still not enough to persuade them from upgading to the newer 6.7

Me, I stuck with the 6.2 gasser because I don't log that many miles or tow huge equipment...It's been a great motor so far.
__________________
"Under promise, over deliver and all that!" JBM
supersealconstruction.com

https://www.facebook.com/Superseal-C...2699413750013/
superseal is offline  
Old 06-09-2014, 08:16 PM   #7
Gen. Contractor
 
Ninjaframer's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Light commercial
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,194
Rewards Points: 2,610

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I had a 2012 ford f350 with the 6.7. Just bought a 2014- bad ass motors in what I think is the nicest/ most comfortable cab.
__________________
"slow makes smooth, smooth makes fast"
Ninjaframer is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 12:45 AM   #8
Love me some Concrete
 
brhokel606's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,819
Rewards Points: 4,089

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I have a 2010 F-350 Crew cab Dually and have been very pleased with it. Makes a chit ton of pulling power! I think it has the 6.4, not a big motor guy, so I might be wrong. I like the Ford interiors much better, very user friendly and more room than Dodge or Chevy. I have 3 kids and wanted the extra room just in case. I had a Dodge and it's cab is just a bit smaller but noticeable except for the mega cab.
__________________
I know I'm crazy...I love concrete
brhokel606 is offline  
Old 06-15-2014, 07:00 PM   #9
Pro
 
ESSaustin's Avatar
 
Trade: Hauling/trucking
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 514
Rewards Points: 384

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I love Cummins. Been running them in Dodges and my Freightshaker.
ESSaustin is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 09:56 AM   #10
Pro
 
Red Adobe's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Roofs, Sparky , Remodels and beer specialist
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eastern NM / West Tx
Posts: 1,214
Rewards Points: 92

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Im a chevy man so we know where Im going.....lol

D- max pulls the loaded 31ft enclosed race trailer thru the mountains at 75 mph with 0 issues

Cummins will keep up as well but the ford in the caravan has a hard time pulling the hills at speed loaded (trans and high egt)
Red Adobe is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 01:34 PM   #11
Pro
 
Randy Bush's Avatar
 
Trade: Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 5,421
Rewards Points: 1,220

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I heard yesterday , not from any offical sourse , that dodge is going to be using it's own diesel, and ford is going to start using the cummins. Anyone else heard about this?
Randy Bush is online now  
Old 06-17-2014, 09:19 PM   #12
Pro
 
Robinson_Cnst's Avatar
 
Trade: general contractor
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lincoln IL
Posts: 106
Rewards Points: 109

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Poor Ford boys still wishin they had a real diesel lol. Pretty sure that was some bad hear say.

We run an 05 Cummins 3500. All stock except a Smarty SR programmer. 180,000 on original clutch still pulls like a frieght train. Engine has popped an injector line and two water pumps. Never has stopped running.
Robinson_Cnst is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 09:26 PM   #13
Gen. Contractor
 
Ninjaframer's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Light commercial
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Utah
Posts: 3,194
Rewards Points: 2,610

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Robinson_Cnst
Poor Ford boys still wishin they had a real diesel lol. Pretty sure that was some bad hear say. We run an 05 Cummins 3500. All stock except a Smarty SR programmer. 180,000 on original clutch still pulls like a frieght train. Engine has popped an injector line and two water pumps. Never has stopped running.
6.7 scorpion is as "real" a diesel as it gets
__________________
"slow makes smooth, smooth makes fast"
Ninjaframer is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 09:52 PM   #14
Pro
 
Red Adobe's Avatar
 
Trade: Metal Roofs, Sparky , Remodels and beer specialist
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Eastern NM / West Tx
Posts: 1,214
Rewards Points: 92

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


still got FORD on it and they CIRCLED the problem in their logo LoL
Red Adobe is offline  
Old 06-21-2014, 10:02 PM   #15
Pro
 
Randy Bush's Avatar
 
Trade: Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Great Falls, MT
Posts: 5,421
Rewards Points: 1,220

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Adobe View Post
still got FORD on it and they CIRCLED the problem in their logo LoL
Just jealous.
Randy Bush is online now  
Old 06-21-2014, 10:05 PM   #16
Professional Contractor
 
Hardscaper's Avatar
 
Trade: Hardscape
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 122

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


6.7 Ford Scorpion Diesel.

2011 and a 2014. Both are BEASTS. Have only run Fords for the last 20 years.
Can't really talk about the Dodges or Chevy's.
lots of all of them on the road.
__________________
Peace is that glorious moment when everybody stands around reloading. Thomas Jefferson
Hardscaper is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Hardscaper For This Useful Post:
Ninjaframer (06-21-2014)
Old 06-22-2014, 05:59 PM   #17
Interior Remodeling
 
Eric K's Avatar
 
Trade: Interior Remodeling
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elizabeth,PA
Posts: 1,275
Rewards Points: 570

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I got a 06 6.0 Powerstroke. Absolutely love it. Go to Powerstroke.org and start reading. Once you have a grasp of what to watch and do the preventive work they are badass. Cheaper than buying a new highly restricted diesel.
Eric K is offline  
Old 06-22-2014, 07:45 PM   #18
Pro
 
pizalm's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 490
Rewards Points: 810

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


I have an 06 6.0. It's been amazing since the new motor. Lol. There's definitively deals to be had with a 6.0 with their reputation but you need to know what to look for and what causes the issues.

If I was buying a new or newer one I'd love a superduty with the 6.7. Beautiful trucks.
pizalm is online now  
Old 06-24-2014, 11:18 PM   #19
Member
 
cashishift's Avatar
 
Trade: Demo
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 150

Re: 1 Ton Diesel Reviews..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Bush View Post
I heard yesterday , not from any offical sourse , that dodge is going to be using it's own diesel, and ford is going to start using the cummins. Anyone else heard about this?
They just spent god knows how much money engineering the 6.7L from the ground up... ain't a way in hell thats true.

Advertisement

cashishift is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does Your Company do Employee Reviews? constructonomics General Discussion 14 04-12-2013 04:43 AM
Diesel spill on raw 2-1/4" oak glkirk Flooring 16 02-06-2013 01:32 AM
Google Reviews LeeFowler Marketing & Sales 6 01-24-2013 12:41 PM
reviews on google search AustinDB Marketing & Sales 14 11-01-2012 12:42 PM
Does your company do employee reviews? constructonomics Business 0 09-30-2009 10:29 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?