What Tools? - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

What Tools?

Old 05-27-2015, 11:28 AM   #1

Trade: Joiner
Rewards Points: 8

What Tools?

Hi to all

I'm due to start a 3 year college course starting in september. I will also be working with a carpenter while not a college to gain extra experience. I have some experience as a kitchen fitter and a cabinet maker but I would like to learn and get at trade qualification. So I'm about to invest in my own tools. Can anybody help me with what I should look to buy for starting out with. I would rather buy the best I can as budget isn't really an issue and I would rather not send money on something then have to buy a better one as the one I have will only go so far. I could do with particular help with what to buy cordless and what not ect. I will be doing predominantly site work to begin with.

Thanks for reading I hope some of you can help.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 05-27-2015, 12:16 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 3,272

Re: What Tools?

A good tape measure.

A sharp pencil.

A precision level.

Good chisels. (and a sharpening stone).

A hand saw and miter box.

A plumb bob.

I am not a carpenter, but when I learned on a hand saw, I learned to measure twice, and cut once. A good measuring tape will help you with that.

Things need to be square and level, for you to get the right length. Hence the level and plum bob.

And a dull pencil just makes you inaccurate.

Advertisement

Old 05-27-2015, 12:34 PM   #3
Nail Driving Fool

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 1,333

The most used power tools on site are:

Circular saw
Reciprocating saw