TStak Set Ups - Page 3 - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

TStak Set Ups

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2014, 10:51 PM   #41
Pro
 
mobiledynamics's Avatar
 
Trade: engineer
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 339
Rewards Points: 681

Re: TStak Set Ups


Tony -

I compared the 2 briefly. Given how I use my boxes, I stuck with the Tough as they are that much tougher. I can see how one could see the weight as a issue.
mobiledynamics is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-02-2014, 11:47 PM   #42
Pro
 
m1911's Avatar
 
Trade: finish carpenter
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 6,819
Rewards Points: 15,632

Re: TStak Set Ups


Quote:
Originally Posted by pinwheel View Post
I'm 240 & I used 2 tall drawer boxes & one deep box as a chair at lunch today. No flex whatsoever.
it's all about proper load distribution!
m1911 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to m1911 For This Useful Post:
pinwheel (06-03-2014)
Old 06-03-2014, 04:23 AM   #43
Pro
 
tonylumps's Avatar
 
Trade: carpenter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: newtown square Pa
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 347

Re: TStak Set Ups


Quote:
Originally Posted by mobiledynamics View Post
Tony -

I compared the 2 briefly. Given how I use my boxes, I stuck with the Tough as they are that much tougher. I can see how one could see the weight as a issue.
No doubt about that. But I found that after loading the boxes with tools I needed a tool tote or tool bag because they where that heavy.The tough box setup with the cart is good for a Carpenter gang instead of just a one man operation I think.
tonylumps is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-10-2014, 08:26 PM   #44
New Guy
 
white_lightning's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 64

Re: TStak Set Ups


I picked up some more boxes .
I'm starting to love them .
I just need more . The One thing I don't like is there is no middle sized box.
The festool inserts fit perfect in boxes with no movement.
TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140610_212426.jpg



TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140610_212442.jpg



TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140610_212512.jpg

Last edited by white_lightning; 06-10-2014 at 08:29 PM.
white_lightning is offline  
Old 06-11-2014, 09:50 PM   #45
Pro
 
Unger.const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,574
Rewards Points: 2,926

Re: TStak Set Ups


On the clear lid box. I needed a little more room then the factory had it. So I popped out the tray and cut out the section under the 7 removable cups
TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140611_192428.jpg

Takes a few seconds to figure out how to remove it.

TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140611_192507.jpg

After cutting it out and relocking it in. Here I can put in a M12 fuel hackzall , M12 right angle drill, M12 dremel tool, M12 fuel impact driver. M12 3/8 ratchet, and an M18 multi tool.

TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140611_192555.jpg

Pull the front lid latch (silver metal part) out from the box causing the plastic to bow out releasing these two tabs (at the end of my pinky and index finger) you may have to wiggle the tray a little to get the front side let loose. Then same with other front latch. Then lift front of tray up till back releases

TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140611_192623.jpg

The reason for keeping the rim of the tray is that these side compartments and the bit holder (center front) are trapped closed by the lid being closed. Thus the small parts/bits aren't playing hide and seek with you everyday.

TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140611_192711.jpg



Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20140611_192711.jpg
Views:	731
Size:	197.3 KB
ID:	114037
Sometimes I need the square cups to have a lid. And the tray wouldn't allow the lid of main box to close if in place. (Cup lids came from the drawer unit tstak) . Some of my smaller tools won't fit in the smaller boxes. Or the pipe thread paste. Or small glue tubes. In the back right corner cup I have two chalk reels. One with permanent chalk. The other with light chalk so as not to leave a permanent line on a project if needed. The cup keeps the two together without chalk dust all over everything.

Last edited by Unger.const; 06-11-2014 at 09:55 PM.
Unger.const is offline  
Old 06-17-2014, 10:41 PM   #46
Member
 
cashishift's Avatar
 
Trade: Demo
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 150

Re: TStak Set Ups


I'll have to take some pictures of how I am using mine.

Currently still building them up. I have a Long Top Handle, 2 drawer, and a basic open one.

Will be putting a Bosch jig saw into the open top one.

I wish they offered some more flexibility with the boxes that have drawer storage or containers.

Might have to dream up something.
cashishift is offline  
Old 06-25-2014, 07:30 PM   #47
Pro
 
madmax718's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,775
Rewards Points: 3,272

Re: TStak Set Ups


The tough box really lets you load up. Probably more than you should. Honestly, the x large box, should not be loaded with compact tools, just bulky tools. I estimate you'd probably be able to pack it with 10000 4" nails easily with room for your lunch. Not saying you should, as that would be like a 300 lb box. The cart is definately heavy duty compared to the tstak, but you'd more likely scratch up finished floors with it compared to the tstak with the forward wheels. But, it does offer a tool lock feature, which is not great security, but it does prevent the "can I borrow a...." from borrowing it while your out.
madmax718 is offline  
Old 06-26-2014, 04:25 AM   #48
Pro
 
tonylumps's Avatar
 
Trade: carpenter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: newtown square Pa
Posts: 204
Rewards Points: 347

Re: TStak Set Ups


The Tough box for sure is a Tough Sturdy System if that is what you need. I bought it and it does not work for me. I went with T-Stack. Not as durable. Not water proof.But it works out better because of the smaller and lighter boxes I think they are a better alternative than Festool boxes witch I have a couple of .I don't know about L boxes even though all of my battery tools are Bosch.
tonylumps is offline  
Old 09-22-2014, 10:38 PM   #49
Pro
 
Unger.const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,574
Rewards Points: 2,926

Re: TStak Set Ups


Got some tough boxes to blend with my tstaks.
Attached Thumbnails
TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20140922_203819.jpg  
Unger.const is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Unger.const For This Useful Post:
thezoo (09-23-2014)
Old 09-23-2014, 07:38 AM   #50
Pro
 
thezoo's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Maryland
Posts: 199
Rewards Points: 238

Re: TStak Set Ups


That's a nice setup, diamondback cover, nice bedd slider, looks organized and pro.
thezoo is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to thezoo For This Useful Post:
Unger.const (09-24-2014)
Old 10-14-2014, 05:42 PM   #51
Pro
 
Unger.const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,574
Rewards Points: 2,926

Re: TStak Set Ups


Rainy day.......might as well get a little more organized

As with my tstaks trying to figure out how to interchange some of the tough boxes. The medium-sized box will fit under my cover but the large is just an inch to tall. So in order to fit I would have to lay it on its face to fit. I wanted the large to fit my suspendavest tool belt in. As the medium didn't seem to alow it to fit.

The little tool carrier in the back of the large unit (finger in pic showing where yellow tool carrier use to be) will fit in the medium unit. And still allows tray (shown in second picture) to fit. Downside is that taller tools may not fit with lid down.

I was hoping I could swap the lid of the small box with that of the large. It would reduce the hight to just fit under truck cover. Unfortunately the width of all boxes are the same but the depth of the large box is an inch plus of the small and medium.

My puppygirl 'Whiskey' isn't being helpful either. But she is cute so I added a picture of her before she chews on some tools for sport.

TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20141014_152538.jpg



TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20141014_152437.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20141014_154115.jpg   TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20141014_154252.jpg   TStak Set ups-forumrunner_20141014_154435.jpg  
Unger.const is offline  
Old 11-27-2014, 06:55 PM   #52
Pro
 
maxwage's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial Construction
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Columbus, Indiana
Posts: 663
Rewards Points: 791

Re: TStak Set Ups


Quote:
Originally Posted by Unger.const View Post
So buy swapping the tops of middle and left box. It will make the new hybrid tstak
on the right.....

On the back side the hinge is TWO small metal rods the make one long hinge pin (same concept as a piano hinge) push one side just enough to send the hinge pin out the other side. Grab wire/pin with pliers and pull. This will leave other pin in box. Go up under center of hinge and chase the first pin back (the one you shoved in to shove out other pin you grabbed with pliers.) Thru the small slots of plastic it will be evident once you see how it works
Absolutely genius!!!!

I am investing in the TStak system and it is on my Xmas list from family members. I am definitely stealing this idea.
__________________
I'm a beast at everything I do.

I buy tools. Not brands.
maxwage is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to maxwage For This Useful Post:
Unger.const (11-28-2014)
Old 11-28-2014, 09:25 AM   #53
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,633
Rewards Points: 3,514

Re: TStak Set Ups


Im very happy with my Tstaks as well, I may get a couple of more drawer bins
Tom M is online now  
Old 11-29-2014, 09:36 PM   #54
topsail's trimcat
 
woodworkbykirk's Avatar
 
Trade: finish Carpenter/ renovations
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: ns, canada
Posts: 5,028
Rewards Points: 384

Re: TStak Set Ups


funny how many guys are running the dewalt box setups but are running milwaukee gear lol

i have the bosch lboxxs and some of the dewalt tough boxes.. they house milwaukee m12 cordless. makita 18 cordless gear or bosch / makita routers, multitools and jigsaws

Advertisement

__________________
putting down subfloor with glue and screws, well i saw dr. smith and the robot too , i had a martian burger and a sonic shake
woodworkbykirk is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dewalt TStak Storage System MLCcarpenter Tools & Equipment 90 05-12-2016 11:01 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?