Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

Saw blade guide

9K views 33 replies 13 participants last post by  EricBrancard 
#1 ·
I have read several threads that sporadically discuss saw blades, and what you use, and what you use it for but I think we need a dedicated thread for this. Maybe also a guide to the types of blades and what they are best for, speed to cut at etc.

Hopefully Justin can chime in, he seems to know a thing or two.

#2 ·
Paging Tom and Justin....
I'd be curious to hear other's experience as well. Especially blades I have little knowledge of or haven't heard much about like melamine blades for circular saw, some of these new demolition blades, fiber cement blades, and ferrous metal dry cut blades.

#3 ·
We use the Bosch CB714NC 7-1/4-Inch 14 Tooth for demo.

First project was a double layer roof with 1/2" ply. Cut it into sections no problem and doesn;t shoot crap at you the whole time.

Blade has done a few jobs and is still kicking.

#5 · (Edited)
I buy blades based on their specs. A quick look the angles will give you a pretty good idea how it will cut. I tend to go with blades that have pretty conservative and fairly traditional geometry. There are manufacturers that use some pretty acute geometry on blades to give a mirror finish on a cut. The higher the top grind and the more shear angles the cleaner it will cut, but it will run hot and dull quickly. I define a clean cut as no tearout or chipping. Anything more is just mill glaze. There are certain manufacturers that I go to first when buying. They have better and more carbide, higher quality plates and better plate tension. There are other manufacturers that I don't even consider.