ProSensor 710 Stud Finder - Page 2 - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

ProSensor 710 Stud Finder

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-13-2014, 08:34 PM   #21
Member
 
Pitto's Avatar
 
Trade: Cabinetmaker / Kitchen Designer
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 98

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


been thru alot of stanley stud finders, returned the bosch ones, and this one is the fist one that is actually worth the money.

bonus is it doesnt beep, it is dead easy to use, and you never need to worry about turning it off, or batts going flat. Uses 2 aa's and they last ages.
Pitto is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 09-14-2014, 09:40 PM   #22
Pro
 
SuperiorHIP's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,494
Rewards Points: 1,450

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


I was installing some book cases a while back and just for the heck of it tried to find the studs through the 1/4" ply and it worked, was very surprised.
SuperiorHIP is offline  
Old 09-14-2014, 09:51 PM   #23
LRG WoodCrafting

 
Leo G's Avatar
 
Trade: Maker of Fine Sawdust
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Posts: 40,207
Rewards Points: 11,099

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Through the 1/4" and the drywall?
__________________
Sawdust Follows Me Everywhere
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
Sanding is the bane of my existence
WWG1WGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HusqyPro View Post
Carpenter by day.
Mad scientist by night.
http://lrgwood.com
Custom Cabinets in Hartford County Connecticut
Leo G is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-14-2014, 10:10 PM   #24
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,902
Rewards Points: 3,262

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Hmm, my zircon one I paid $75 for can barely pick up a stud, doesn't work at all on plaster. I have a stanely that I paid a lot less for can read fairly clear through plaster or double layer drywall. If all this can do is a single layer drywall then I don't know if it's worth it.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 10:42 PM   #25
Pro
 
SuperiorHIP's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,494
Rewards Points: 1,450

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo G View Post
Through the 1/4" and the drywall?
Yes.
SuperiorHIP is offline  
Old 09-15-2014, 11:12 PM   #26
General Contractor
 
Doctor Handyman's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Upland, CA
Posts: 494
Rewards Points: 408

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Been using it for a couple of years. Very reliable and I will occasionally use it as a comparison with my Zircon on plaster. It wins every time. I don't come across lath or metal lath often. Mostly plasterboard.

You should buy one.
Doctor Handyman is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 10:16 PM   #27
Pro
 
vff9's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter & General Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Steinbach, MB, Canada
Posts: 46
Rewards Points: 74

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Just ordered one of these and can't wait to try it....
vff9 is offline  
Old 09-19-2014, 11:12 PM   #28
Registered User
 
Oldmanchaz's Avatar
 
Trade: Finish carpenter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 16

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Yes, I bought one of these about three months ago. Paid about $50 but it is worth every penny. There are two great features. One is that you don't have to wait for your stud finder to calibrate. Just put it on the wall and if you land on a stud it will show right away. The other great feature is that it shows you the three dots to reveal both sides of the stud. No more having to mark one side and then the other to find the middle. Buy it now.
Oldmanchaz is offline  
Old 09-20-2014, 10:04 PM   #29
Member
 
larry228's Avatar
 
Trade: residential remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 6

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Like everyone else, I think this is an outstanding stud finder. It will also identify an occasional CPVC pipe in a wall, two pipes close to each other and too close to the surface of the drywall look a lot like a stud to this sensor. Don't ask me how I know this.
larry228 is offline  
Old 10-05-2014, 09:43 PM   #30
LRG WoodCrafting

 
Leo G's Avatar
 
Trade: Maker of Fine Sawdust
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Posts: 40,207
Rewards Points: 11,099

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Just ordered it today for use on a crown job I have on Thursday. Hope it works as good as claimed.
__________________
Sawdust Follows Me Everywhere
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
Sanding is the bane of my existence
WWG1WGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HusqyPro View Post
Carpenter by day.
Mad scientist by night.
http://lrgwood.com
Custom Cabinets in Hartford County Connecticut
Leo G is online now  
Old 10-05-2014, 10:20 PM   #31
Pro
 
aptpupil's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: oakland, ca
Posts: 2,643
Rewards Points: 1,894

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Great for drywall, no good for lath/plaster. Works on wood or metal studs.
aptpupil is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 05:23 AM   #32
Pro
 
Fingersmasher's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Atlanta,ga
Posts: 189
Rewards Points: 114

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Does anybody know of a stud finder that works well with plaster and lath?
Fingersmasher is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 05:48 AM   #33
Livin the dream...
 
Spencer's Avatar
 
Trade: Finish Carpentry
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6,624
Rewards Points: 5,514

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo G View Post
Just ordered it today for use on a crown job I have on Thursday. Hope it works as good as claimed.
I like it. Just started using mine. Trimming a house. Its a little awkward for running base but still very nice.
Spencer is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 06:05 AM   #34
Focusing on solutions.
 
pinwheel's Avatar
 
Trade: hardwood floor contractor & so much more
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,978
Rewards Points: 692

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


You guys are gonna cause me to buy another tool & get in more trouble with the wife, aren't ya?
pinwheel is offline  
Old 10-06-2014, 07:35 AM   #35
LRG WoodCrafting

 
Leo G's Avatar
 
Trade: Maker of Fine Sawdust
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Posts: 40,207
Rewards Points: 11,099

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Don't blame us for your addiction
__________________
Sawdust Follows Me Everywhere
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
Sanding is the bane of my existence
WWG1WGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HusqyPro View Post
Carpenter by day.
Mad scientist by night.
http://lrgwood.com
Custom Cabinets in Hartford County Connecticut
Leo G is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Leo G For This Useful Post:
pinwheel (10-06-2014)
Old 10-09-2014, 06:14 PM   #36
LRG WoodCrafting

 
Leo G's Avatar
 
Trade: Maker of Fine Sawdust
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Posts: 40,207
Rewards Points: 11,099

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Got to use it today on a crown job. There wasn't much wall left after all the windows and doors. It did really good. It got confused on (to the ceiling) headers. But it was pretty easy to see what was going on. As you approached the header you could see the LEDs all lighting up. But when it was totally on the header that's when it didn't know what to do. I'm assuming it registers the difference between the sensors to determine when there is a density difference. But when you go over the header all of a sudden all the sensors are detecting the same density and then it get confused and either flashes or goes blank like it was on drywall with no studs behind it.

All the nails we shot hit wood, except one. And that was my fault for being at a screwy angle to the pc of tape we used to mark the stud locations. Moved over 1/4" and hit it. So out of 120 nails shot I missed one. Not bad at all.

I'd give it 4 3/4 stars.
__________________
Sawdust Follows Me Everywhere
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
Sanding is the bane of my existence
WWG1WGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HusqyPro View Post
Carpenter by day.
Mad scientist by night.
http://lrgwood.com
Custom Cabinets in Hartford County Connecticut
Leo G is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Leo G For This Useful Post:
pinwheel (10-09-2014)
Old 10-09-2014, 08:20 PM   #37
Focusing on solutions.
 
pinwheel's Avatar
 
Trade: hardwood floor contractor & so much more
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Missouri
Posts: 4,978
Rewards Points: 692

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Thanks for the review Leo. I'll be putting one in my trailer before the next trim job.
pinwheel is offline  
Old 10-11-2014, 05:04 PM   #38
Pro
 
Moze's Avatar
 
Trade: Sign Installation
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: TX
Posts: 311
Rewards Points: 452

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


I have one and it works great.

Just an FYI, you can pick these up under a relabeled name at Costco for about $15 less. Same exact tool but it's black and blue. Same manufacturer.
Moze is offline  
Old 10-13-2014, 09:22 AM   #39
This space for lease
 
RangoWA's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: WA State
Posts: 5,323
Rewards Points: 4,628

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Quote:
Originally Posted by Moze View Post
I have one and it works great.

Just an FYI, you can pick these up under a relabeled name at Costco for about $15 less. Same exact tool but it's black and blue. Same manufacturer.
Yep, I got one Saturday, I posted it in the tool addict section, forgot about this thread.
RangoWA is offline  
Old 10-18-2014, 10:30 PM   #40
Pro
 
flippinfool's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Improvement contractor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 113

Re: ProSensor 710 Stud Finder


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBuildingFirm View Post
yes. probably the best one i've ever used.
Same here and I've owned quite a few.

Advertisement

flippinfool is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Construction Master, Rake Wall so1storm Framing 0 07-22-2014 12:57 PM
I need a stud finder that actually works!!!!! CarrPainting Tools & Equipment 31 01-04-2014 03:02 PM
I Love My Stud Finder #1 Handyman Tools & Equipment 39 12-16-2013 08:57 AM
2x4 Basement Stud Walls On a Three Story Home WITH NO FOOTER Baltimore Carpentry 13 08-16-2012 07:02 PM
Stud finder SuperiorHIP Tools & Equipment 10 02-27-2012 11:46 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?