Opinions Please (drill Press) - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

Opinions Please (drill Press)

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-12-2018, 03:23 PM   #1
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,181
Rewards Points: 16,550

Opinions Please (drill Press)


I'm thinking of investing in a drill press with a 6" spindle travel to drill holes for cable rails. Set up a jig and fence system specifically for that task.

I need to drill a 3/16" hole through a Trex post sleeve, into a 4x4 Doug Fir post and through the otherside in the middle. I believe 13 holes per post 50 posts for this particular project.

Is this something that will work more efficiently using a press in your guys opinion?

The finish guys may have some answers for me. Thanks

I have my eye on this one
https://www.toolnut.com/teknatool-ne...yABEgI6CPD_BwE


Mike.
_______________
Calidecks is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 11-12-2018, 04:50 PM   #2
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,022
Rewards Points: 1,724

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


IMO, it would be faster to set up one jig for the 13 holes and hand drill them all. I'll use something like an 18" bit so I have plenty to keep from having slop.

Making the jig on a drill press is a time honored tradition.

Advertisement

hdavis is online now  
Old 11-12-2018, 05:12 PM   #3
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,181
Rewards Points: 16,550

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hdavis View Post
IMO, it would be faster to set up one jig for the 13 holes and hand drill them all. I'll use something like an 18" bit so I have plenty to keep from having slop.



Making the jig on a drill press is a time honored tradition.


Make the jig out of hardwood, or metal?My concern with metal is scratching the post sleeve. My concern with a wood jig is slop.


Mike.
_______________
Calidecks is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-12-2018, 05:15 PM   #4
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,181
Rewards Points: 16,550

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Something like this?


Mike.
_______________
Calidecks is offline  
Old 11-12-2018, 05:27 PM   #5
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,022
Rewards Points: 1,724

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
Make the jig out of hardwood, or metal?My concern with metal is scratching the post sleeve. My concern with a wood jig is slop.


Mike.
_______________
Make it out of wood, but drill the holes oversized and put sections of pipe in as sleeves so you don't get much wear or slop.

I say wood, because you'll get the slight expansiin and contraction with varyung moisture content that your wood post will have.

If you need thus to last practically forever, you put an oversized metal sleeve in that's fixed, and a correct sized sleeve inside of that which is free to spin, but has a retainer to keep it from riding up while you drill.

That approach would be something to have a machinist make the internal and oversized sleeve for you.
hdavis is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (11-12-2018), Fixed (11-19-2018)
Old 11-12-2018, 06:03 PM   #6
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,022
Rewards Points: 1,724

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
Something like this?


Mike.
_______________
Yup!
hdavis is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to hdavis For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (11-12-2018)
Old 11-12-2018, 08:52 PM   #7
Pro
 
tjbnwi's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cedar Tucky, Indiana
Posts: 9,663
Rewards Points: 3,136

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


If you want to go with that drill press, I've read nothing but good things about them.

There is an entire thread on FOG dedicated to the Voyager. Tips on how to make tables and other accessories for it.

Tom
tjbnwi is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to tjbnwi For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (11-12-2018)
Old 11-13-2018, 02:32 AM   #8
Pro
 
TRThomas's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeling/Everything
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 376

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


I would suggest a drill press over a jig, once you have a drill press you will find many more uses for it. There are also drill/mill hybrids, but they get expensive really quickly and unless you're working with metal you don't need one.

With the drill press, all you would need to know is your on center hole spacing, drill the first hole in all your posts, then set a pin or dowel with a beveled edge on the top, the exact diameter of the holes you are drilling on a piece of plywood with a fence to keep them centered, or off center.. whatever you're going for, then just drill, advance last drilled hole onto the dowel/pin, etc etc

Drill presses are also great for mortise/tennons with forsner bits or mortising setups ($$$) drilling flush mount hinges, really anything you need to drill a straight hole in, a press is the best way to do it in a shop setting. They are also almost universally variable speed, so your bits will go a lot further and work much better doing so as you can set the speed according to the bit. Also.. heh.. you have much more control over the drilling operation so you're less likely to get blow out the back side of the wood you're working on because you're just applying very minimal pressure to a hand wheel/lever.

I've had limited success with wooden drilling jigs, something always ends up walking or wallowing out the wood guide holes causing quite an error once you've drilled 6" through something. Steel guide bushings work well to prevent this from happening, but the time it would take to build a one time use jig like that you could have bought the drill press, assembled it, drilled all of the holes and put down a couple drinks.

Last edited by TRThomas; 11-13-2018 at 02:34 AM.
TRThomas is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TRThomas For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (11-13-2018), Fixed (11-19-2018)
Old 11-13-2018, 02:46 AM   #9
Pro
 
TRThomas's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeling/Everything
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 376

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Also, there are tons of commercially available drill press auxiliary tops, fences, jigs and whatnot available. Kreg and Woodpeckers off the top of my head but there are many more. One thing I've been meaning to make is a top out of laminate or formica with a t-track that runs parallel with a t-track adjustable fence and centered on the center axis of the drill press arbor. This way, you can use a t-bolt with different diameter cylinder nuts (5/16 11/32 3/8 ... 3/4) to use as indexing pins that can be easily set and adjusted.
TRThomas is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TRThomas For This Useful Post:
Robie (11-13-2018)
Old 11-13-2018, 07:45 AM   #10
Pro
 
rrk's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: new jersey
Posts: 5,558
Rewards Points: 1,486

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


That is a lot of moving wood for 13 holes in 1 post times 50
easier/ faster to move the drill
rrk is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to rrk For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (11-13-2018)
Old 11-13-2018, 10:21 AM   #11
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,181
Rewards Points: 16,550

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Then I have a staircase with two landings and a return. The posts will need drilled at an angle.


Mike.
_______________
Calidecks is offline  
Old 11-13-2018, 04:39 PM   #12
Pro
 
TRThomas's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeling/Everything
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 144
Rewards Points: 376

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
Then I have a staircase with two landings and a return. The posts will need drilled at an angle.


Mike.
_______________
Most drill press tables tilt (the one you linked does, +- 45deg.) but I don't know if 6" of throw would get you through the posts you are making at ~32deg. (or more?) without re-chucking the bit which would essentially double your work.

A jig with guide bushings ( https://www.amazon.com/06111TK-3pck-.../dp/B005GFL5IU https://www.grainger.com/category/dr...xoC99YQAvD_BwE or similar ) might work, but 6" through Trex a 4x4 then Trex with a 3/16" drill without it running out on you, not to mention there is a bit of slop between the bushing and the bit, is a tall order. The longer the guide bushing the less angle the bit can achieve before it starts drilling. Since you really want the cables to be perfectly straight straight through the posts, maybe drill half through 1 side then half through the other and hope they meet in the middle?
TRThomas is offline  
Old 11-13-2018, 04:57 PM   #13
Pro
 
hdavis's Avatar
 
Trade: remodeling
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: CoastalME
Posts: 23,022
Rewards Points: 1,724

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Californiadecks View Post
Then I have a staircase with two landings and a return. The posts will need drilled at an angle.


Mike.
_______________
Same answer.
hdavis is online now  
Old 11-13-2018, 07:11 PM   #14
Eater of sins.
 
ScipioAfricanus's Avatar
 
Trade: Designer/Drafter/General Contractor(again)
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 3,960
Rewards Points: 1,694

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


I would suggest a drill press also, but that one (to me) seems overly expensive though.

I would think that you could get a much less expensive one that will do just as good a job, maybe two for that price.

Just my thought.

Andy.
ScipioAfricanus is offline  
Old 11-13-2018, 10:44 PM   #15
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,181
Rewards Points: 16,550

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScipioAfricanus View Post
I would suggest a drill press also, but that one (to me) seems overly expensive though.

I would think that you could get a much less expensive one that will do just as good a job, maybe two for that price.

Just my thought.

Andy.


Not with a 6 inch spindle travel. That's key.


Mike.
_______________
Calidecks is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Calidecks For This Useful Post:
ScipioAfricanus (11-14-2018)
Old 11-13-2018, 11:21 PM   #16
Pro
 
Jay hole's Avatar
 
Trade: General contractor
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 770
Rewards Points: 1,623

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


What about something like this????
Jay hole is offline  
Old 11-14-2018, 12:23 AM   #17
GC/carpenter
 
Calidecks's Avatar
 
Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Anaheim Hills, California (OC)
Posts: 36,181
Rewards Points: 16,550

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay hole View Post
What about something like this????


It's not accurate enough. Plus I can't attach it to the post sleeve.


Mike.
_______________
Calidecks is offline  
Old 11-14-2018, 03:14 PM   #18
Business Owner
 
P42003's Avatar
 
Trade: Pest & Termite Control
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Paducah, KY (far West Kentucky)
Posts: 334
Rewards Points: 156

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


There are old mortising machines on the market which have the handy foot feed lever allowing both of your hands to move the stock and your foot to move the trunion. You'd have to inquire about the specific trunion travel depth. If you got a 3 phase motor you could power it and infinitely control the speed with a conversion box for $175-200.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
P42003 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to P42003 For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (11-14-2018), TRThomas (11-14-2018)
Old 11-14-2018, 03:15 PM   #19
Business Owner
 
P42003's Avatar
 
Trade: Pest & Termite Control
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Paducah, KY (far West Kentucky)
Posts: 334
Rewards Points: 156

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


http://vintagemachinery.org/classifieds/ads.aspx

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
P42003 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to P42003 For This Useful Post:
TRThomas (11-14-2018)
Old 11-16-2018, 09:18 AM   #20
Pro
 
r a s's Avatar
 
Trade: division twelve
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 1,170

Re: Opinions Please (drill Press)


The reviews on Amazon may prove helpful and the three reviews on Toolnut were more thorough than most.

If the price is even an issue then you may want to see what is available locally on Bidspotter.com. There are lots of companies that use them to move surplus drill presses.

Advertisement

r a s is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp replacement drill. Suggestions? renov8r Tools & Equipment 25 03-07-2013 11:40 PM
looking at a festool cordless drill fr8train Tools & Equipment 31 05-10-2009 02:28 PM
Need help picking new heavy duty drill cmd17uc Tools & Equipment 5 01-19-2009 03:27 PM
corded dewalt drill trigger speed control question michigan roman Tools & Equipment 1 12-03-2008 01:13 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?