Most Accurate 12" Dual Compound Non Slider Miter Saw? - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

Most Accurate 12" Dual Compound Non Slider Miter Saw?

Old 07-06-2015, 09:21 PM   #1
Perfectionist

Trade: Custom Carpentry
Rewards Points: 764

Most Accurate 12" Dual Compound Non Slider Miter Saw?

I have been using a DeWalt DW716 for a few years now. At first I found it to be a accurate durable saw, now I'm have trouble making accurate cuts when cutting tall material (like 5 1/2" baseboard) in the vertical position. I do not like to cut base flat! Here is what it does when cutting tall base vertically... with the miter scale locked in at 0 and the bevel set to 0 and adjusted to cut a perfect 90 against the stop in the vertical position. Now cut down through the base and the saw cuts perfectly square in the vertical, (checked off the bottom of the base) now swing the miter table to 45 either left or right without touching the bevel setting and chop down through the base (like your going to cope the profile) once again check for square off the bottom of the base along this profile and it's off by a heavy 16th. I cannot get this saw adjusted to cut perfectly square ( vertically) at both miter settings. Anyone else have this trouble?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-06-2015, 10:05 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Finish carpenter
Rewards Points: 1,738

Re: Most Accurate 12" Dual Compound Non Slider Miter Saw?

Sounds like the top of the fences nearest the blade have warped back towards the saw arm. There is a lot of pressure exerted there when cutting in position.