Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-29-2010, 06:08 PM   #1
Pro
 
jhark123's Avatar
 
Trade: Pro Cat Herder
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 2,501
Rewards Points: 1,696

Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


Hi All,

I finally got tired of the cheap hitachi 18g nailer I had been using. I ordered up the Cadex 18.50. I was choosing between three nailers:

1. Max 18g http://www.amazon.com/Max-NF255-ST-1.../dp/B002F9M7AK
This one looked nice, but didn't have a blower. It also cost over twice as much as the Cadex.

2. Omer 18g http://www.amazon.com/OMER-HD-Gauge-...5173135&sr=1-1
I liked this one due to Omer's reputation and that it is made in Italy rather than Taiwan. It doesn't have a blower and it is $100 more than the Cadex.

3. Cadex 18g http://www.amazon.com/Cadex-CB18-50-...5173355&sr=1-1
I picked the Cadex over the others for the blower (I have really loved having it on my Hitachi 15g)

Some observations on the Cadex that aren't clear from their promotional information:
1. The depth control wheel is metal and is easy to use (one of my biggest grips on the hitachi)
2. It has a dryfire lockout that does work well.
3. It has a stated maximum pressure of 105psi.
4. It wont countersink a brad into Fir trim with the "no mar" tip attached.
5. It will countersink into almost anything w/o the soft tip and with the psi dialed to 105. It tested it by shooting a 2" brad into the side of a oak cabinet stile.
6. There is an easy and reversible way to disable the safety, not that I would ever do that.

I haven't used it on a job yet, so I can't give a full review or endorsement.

I would be interested to know if the Omer will countersink a 2" brad with it's soft tip attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Mini Review of the Cadex 18.50 18g nailer-pict0288.jpg   Mini Review of the Cadex 18.50 18g nailer-pict0289.jpg   Mini Review of the Cadex 18.50 18g nailer-pict0292.jpg  
jhark123 is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-19-2010, 05:38 PM   #2
Pro
 
Northwood's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver,B.C.
Posts: 373
Rewards Points: 266

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


Well?
How about an exhaustive review now that it's been 5 months?
Is it a good gun? Would you buy it again? Is it loud? Can it fit in tight places etc?

I talked to the owner/rep. of Woodworking Specialties who is the Cadex distibutor to Amazon and others. He also does the same for Omer, Max, and Nikle. He has many good things to say about the Cadex so I was wondering what you thought of it.

By the way, you mentioned in the quick review that with the no-mar tip installed it didn't countersink as much as you'd like. The Rep. said they have a longer driver available in response to the user feedback concerning that.

Advertisement

Northwood is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 06:53 PM   #3
I like Green things
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Architectural Mill Work
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river. Auburn, IN
Posts: 22,842
Rewards Points: 5,512

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


I am in need of a new 18ga nailer.

The Cadex is on the top of my list.

I was looking at the Cadex, Grex and Omer.
__________________
Warner Mill Works
Facebook
YouTube
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-19-2010, 09:04 PM   #4
Time Traveler
 
texastutt's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Reno's and Millwork
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


Well, I got a Grex and it leaked air right out of the box (1/3rd of the "O" ring was missing), I returned it. I've looked at the Max their new models are less money but not here in Canada yet. Cadex has made it to the top of my list
__________________
TTFN (Tutt-Tutt for Now)
David Tuttle
The King's Woodwright
texastutt is offline  
Old 10-19-2010, 11:53 PM   #5
Pro
 
Northwood's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver,B.C.
Posts: 373
Rewards Points: 266

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


Well I read some reviews of the Cadex 23ga on amazon and some people mentioned what great customer service this guy at Woodworker Specialties gave them (the company who supplies Cadex to Amazon) and corrected some issue they had. Anyways, I went on his site and looked at their stuff then called him. If I were to paraphrase what he said concerning finishing nailers:

Max: Great guns but overpriced. (keep in mind he sells other guns that are very expensive)
Nikle: Good, lots of models discontinued difficult to get parts.
Cadex: Very good. The 23 ga is the best there is. The 18 ga had some complaints about the driver not being long enough to countersink w/ the no mar tip on. Now he can get longer drivers. Also he said most love the blower, the odd person doesn't like the added body size and lever.
Omer: Very good. I believe he thinks they make the best 18 ga. But with the new/longer Cadex 18 ga driver he didn't seem so sure. Sounds like the Omer guns are great for production (as in built to last)

Thats what he seemed to think of the top finishing guns. He doesn't sell Grex and I didn't ask him about them...

I wanted to hear from someone who owns one because the 18 ga are on sale for about $150 on his website. Thinking I might get one.
Northwood is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 01:47 PM   #6
I like Green things
 
WarnerConstInc.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Architectural Mill Work
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In a van, down by the river. Auburn, IN
Posts: 22,842
Rewards Points: 5,512

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


I have a Grex 23ga pinner and I think it is top of the heap for one's that shoot 2" pins.
I used the Nickle, Omer and Cadex extensively before buying the Grex.


I had limited use of the grex 15ga angled nailer, it was all right but, didn't seem any better then my current bostitch.

I think Cadex stepped up their other trim nailers to a level closer to their 23ga pin nailers.
I believe the grex, cadex and maybe one other brand, share the same body and driver configuration on their 23ga pinners.
__________________
Warner Mill Works
Facebook
YouTube
WarnerConstInc. is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 04:36 PM   #7
Pro
 
Rustbucket's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodel/Deck
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jackson, MS
Posts: 1,861
Rewards Points: 1,748

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


I have the little Grex pinner (1-3/8"), and it hasn't given me even a hint of a problem. It is the best I have used. I have heard a lot of bad about their 18g, though. Luv the Max, but that Cadex looks interesting. Omer does make some good equipment. Not as flashy, but dead reliable.
Rustbucket is online now  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:27 PM   #8
Time Traveler
 
texastutt's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Reno's and Millwork
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


Quote:
Originally Posted by WarnerConstInc. View Post
I believe the grex, cadex and maybe one other brand, share the same body and driver configuration on their 23ga pinners.
'cept the air nozzle Nuts on identical.

Well, after reading this thread, I got an email that my PayPal transfer went through... So I've got a Cadex 18g. on order.
__________________
TTFN (Tutt-Tutt for Now)
David Tuttle
The King's Woodwright

Last edited by texastutt; 10-20-2010 at 09:38 PM. Reason: Just Ordered gun
texastutt is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 10:23 PM   #9
Pro
 
jhark123's Avatar
 
Trade: Pro Cat Herder
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Enumclaw, WA
Posts: 2,501
Rewards Points: 1,696

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


Hey All,

I've really enjoyed using the Cadex 18g. I love the blower.

The safety is very intuitive in that it is almost always depressed in any situation that I want to nail (this was not the case with my previous hitachi)

Another great feature is the rear exhaust.

The above being said I will be ordering the longer driver mentioned above (thanks for the tip)

I've only put about one to two boxes of nails through it, so I can't comment on longevity.

Overall I am happy

Last edited by jhark123; 10-21-2010 at 10:41 PM.
jhark123 is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 07:28 PM   #10
Pro
 
Northwood's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver,B.C.
Posts: 373
Rewards Points: 266

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


not sure how much the longer driver costs but Bob at Woodworker Specialties is really helpfull. If anybody is thinking of buying the Cadex make sure to specify, i'm not sure they come with them automatically or not.

I ended up going out to see him and bought the 18 ga Cadex. Seems nice, fairly quiet compared to my old PCable. Little thicker in the body (because of the blower) but otherwise the same size. Has a "slow" shot compared to the "crack" of some finish nailers.
Northwood is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:07 AM   #11
Time Traveler
 
texastutt's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Reno's and Millwork
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 233
Rewards Points: 150

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


UPS just delivered mine last night... Next two jobs won't require finish nailers... but my trusty hammer and nails, geeze I hope I can remember how to do that!

He was a little surprised when I phoned to make sure I got the new longer pin (he only made the change a little while ago and has not gotten the "production" run in yet), as they just introduced it. So thanks for that info because I would have been disappointed by another manufacture.
__________________
TTFN (Tutt-Tutt for Now)
David Tuttle
The King's Woodwright
texastutt is offline  
Old 10-29-2010, 06:28 PM   #12
Pro
 
Northwood's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver,B.C.
Posts: 373
Rewards Points: 266

Re: Mini Review Of The Cadex 18.50 18g Nailer


no problem, glad it was in time! I'm also glad I called him to ask his opinion of the different brands otherwise I wouldn't have known either.

Advertisement

Northwood is offline  



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max brad nailer Rustbucket Tools & Equipment 27 03-13-2012 05:49 PM
Paslode 30 Degree Paper Collated Stick Framing Nailer CJ21 Tools & Equipment 4 02-16-2010 06:28 PM
mini palm nailer Andrew M. Tools & Equipment 14 06-29-2009 08:48 AM
makita an901 nailer johndel1971 Tools & Equipment 2 03-11-2009 05:38 PM
Senco 41XP finish nailer maninthesea Tools & Equipment 9 02-26-2009 01:48 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?