Dump Trailer Opinions And Options! - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-19-2019, 06:06 AM   #1
Pro
 
SearchforSignal's Avatar
 
Trade: Low voltage
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 630

Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Last year I got myself an enclosed trailer for my business, this year I will be investing in a dump trailer.

There are a lot of brands out there but I'm pretty sure I will be going with Lamar.

PJ and a few of the larger manufacturers just have a lot of people who complain about their quality it seams.

Here is the dump I am looking at ordering.

Low profile dump. 14ft or 16ft ?

7k Torsion axles
Tarp Kit
7 gauge single piece floor
Led package
Spreader gate w/slide in ramps
8" I-Beam frame
8" I-Beam Tongue
12" on center crossmembers
235/85 R16 14ply Tires with spare and mount
10k drop leg jack
24" Solid side extensions (debris removale)
8 D Rings welded on side
Power up/down with voltage meter
Wireless remote...? Not sure if I need it.


Anything anyone else would recommend or do without? These are expensive and I only want to buy it once.

Picture is just for reference

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
SearchforSignal is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 03-19-2019, 06:10 AM   #2
Pro
 
TheGrizz's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and handyman
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rome, GA
Posts: 473
Rewards Points: 963

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Good call on the low profile. I donít have to deal with it regularly, as Iím more of a finisher, not a demo guy, but our dump trailer is nearly 7 feet from ground to top. I canít imagine having to demo stuff into it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Advertisement

TheGrizz is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 07:05 AM   #3
Contractor
 
tgeb's Avatar
 
Trade: Excavation, Foundation, Professional Painter!
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maryland
Posts: 6,262
Rewards Points: 802

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Those specs look good to me.

As far as the wireless remote, it could come in handy if you ever intend on spreading stone. You can raise the bed while moving the truck.
__________________
Tom

www.gebcon.com
tgeb is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-19-2019, 07:33 AM   #4
Box Builder
 
Morning Wood's Avatar
 
Trade: Pretty much anything with wood and some metals
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rockport, MA
Posts: 6,036
Rewards Points: 9,686

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Iíd go wireless remote. The first time you run over your remote wires and pull them off the pump is one too many times. And believe me, it will be the most inopportune moment.
Morning Wood is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Morning Wood For This Useful Post:
hammer7896 (03-19-2019)
Old 03-19-2019, 08:12 AM   #5
edward trowelhands
 
Golden view's Avatar
 
Trade: Diplomat
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PDX
Posts: 4,480
Rewards Points: 6,188

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Everyone's business is different, but every way I run the numbers, a dump trailer isn't worth it for me. When I had $5k in dump fees a year and now that I have $20k.
__________________
You make something idiot proof and the world invents a better idiot.
Golden view is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 08:33 AM   #6
Pro
 
Lettusbee's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ft Collins, CO
Posts: 2,556
Rewards Points: 770

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


I've had my Travalong Dump trailer for 10 years with no complaints. I sometimes wish I had gone with wireless remote. Mine is 7x14 with 21" sides, and the low profile is definitely the way to go for residential demo. Can load it with shorter reach equipment when needed, and if you need more height, easy to do with stake pockets.



One of the biggest complaints about cheaper trailers, is the finish. My 10 y.o. trailer has a better finish still, than most 5 year PJs. Buy it once, don't let the concrete guy use it, and it should last forever.



That trailer in the picture looks indestructible.
Lettusbee is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 12:09 PM   #7
Pro
 
SearchforSignal's Avatar
 
Trade: Low voltage
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 630

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lettusbee View Post
I've had my Travalong Dump trailer for 10 years with no complaints. I sometimes wish I had gone with wireless remote. Mine is 7x14 with 21" sides, and the low profile is definitely the way to go for residential demo. Can load it with shorter reach equipment when needed, and if you need more height, easy to do with stake pockets.



One of the biggest complaints about cheaper trailers, is the finish. My 10 y.o. trailer has a better finish still, than most 5 year PJs. Buy it once, don't let the concrete guy use it, and it should last forever.



That trailer in the picture looks indestructible.
Well I will be doing wireless remote.

Yes that one pictured is exactly what I will be getting unless I go with a 16ft. Also thinking of getting a longer tongue. Larger toolbox ect.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
SearchforSignal is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 01:40 PM   #8
Pro
 
Jonbuild's Avatar
 
Trade: Log home builder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 245
Rewards Points: 484

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


That looks like a great trailer, and definitely better built than my Brimar.

for me I like the deck over with fold-down sides, I can have things loaded from the side... my trailer has held up pretty well, but I won't let just anyone use it, and I don't haul much rock or fill with it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Jonbuild is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 07:07 PM   #9
Pro
 
Donohue Const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Granada, MN
Posts: 1,068
Rewards Points: 1,530

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


not sure if I would go with torsion axles if I was getting a dump trailer
I would have to do a lot of research first, my gn tool trailer has torsion axles.
seems like I get ta lot of trailer bounce

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
Ryan
-----------
www.ryandonohueconstruction.com
Donohue Const is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 07:35 PM   #10
Pro
 
SearchforSignal's Avatar
 
Trade: Low voltage
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 630

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Donohue Const View Post
not sure if I would go with torsion axles if I was getting a dump trailer
I would have to do a lot of research first, my gn tool trailer has torsion axles.
seems like I get ta lot of trailer bounce

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Yeah I'm still am thinking things over. I just want the trailer over built so I never have to buy another. These things are expensive.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
SearchforSignal is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 07:45 PM   #11
Pro
 
TheGrizz's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling and handyman
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rome, GA
Posts: 473
Rewards Points: 963

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Quote:
Originally Posted by SearchforSignal View Post
Yeah I'm still am thinking things over. I just want the trailer over built so I never have to buy another. These things are expensive.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk


Iím almost afraid to tell you this, but youíll probably buy another one. No matter how much you think about it now, and how much you think youíve got everything nailed down, once youíre actually using it, youíll probably find something you want to change. The GC I work for has had I think 4 dump trailers in the 6 years Iíve worked for him. His first one was small, and the whole box sat above the wheels, so it was crazy tall. The next one was shorter, wider, and longer, and the box sat down just above the axels. Iím not sure why that one went away, but his current one is almost a mini roll off, permanently mounted to a trailer. You might also look into getting a roll-off trailer. From what Iíve seen, you could use them just like a dump trailer, but you can also drop the bed off without the transport mechanism, which would make it harder to steal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TheGrizz is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 07:45 PM   #12
Pro
 
Donohue Const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Granada, MN
Posts: 1,068
Rewards Points: 1,530

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


I would go 16'
better to use if your hauling any lumber


Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
Ryan
-----------
www.ryandonohueconstruction.com
Donohue Const is offline  
Old 03-19-2019, 11:34 PM   #13
Pro
 
Juan80's Avatar
 
Trade: General contractor
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nor cal
Posts: 222
Rewards Points: 490

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


I have a 12í Imago , great trailer.
Never loan it out , it will last longer.

One bit of advice , get expanded metal on the ramps , real easy to run a wheelbarrow up.

Good looking trailer you are thinking about.
Charlie


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Juan80 is offline  
Old 03-20-2019, 12:27 AM   #14
Pro
 
Stunt Carpenter's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Airdrie
Posts: 1,446
Rewards Points: 1,666

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


I have a 12 ft dump that I bought of a farmer. New pair of axles and spring and it hauls everything I ask it to.

Agree on the low sides. If you canít load bins over the side itís going to be a pain for residential stuff
Stunt Carpenter is online now  
Old 03-20-2019, 07:48 AM   #15
Pro
 
builditguy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,099
Rewards Points: 1,260

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


We had a 1 ton dump truck. Sold it last year and bought a dump trailer. I like the idea of a trailer better, but the truck was alot handier.

With the truck, it would dump alot easier and quicker. Back up, push the button, pull the tailgate, dump and drive away. As long as the tarp wasn't up. Never had a problem.
The reason we got rid of it, was because it wasn't real handy for the in between stuff. One person had to go get it. When they came back, their work truck was at the shop. If they needed any tools, they didn't have them. With the trailer, they can pick it up and still have all of their stuff. I don't like amount of room it takes to manuver, but it's ok. The insurance is cheaper and it doesn't really break down. Charge a battery, buy a new one, once in a while and good to go. Our truck never broke down, but there is more maintenance with vehicles.

I have a DooLittle. Probably not available in your area. The one you pictured looks great. I wouldn't have any reservations.
builditguy is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to builditguy For This Useful Post:
SearchforSignal (03-20-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 09:10 AM   #16
Pro
 
Windycity's Avatar
 
Trade: Masonry
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: chicago
Posts: 2,005
Rewards Points: 7,970

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


I have a Lamar trailer as well and in my opinion the dump trailer was a very good investment. Mine is only a 5x10 but it has a 10k Gross. i use it to haul primarily masonry and concrete debris and when I dump it is usually right at 8000 pounds of payload putting it at 10k gross

Dump trailers are very easy to overload

Your options sound good but I wouldnít hesitate to get the wireless remote because you will have to pull forward to get all the debris out when you dump it so it will be nice to be able to push the up button while sitting in your truck and just pull forward.

Currently I have to open the barn doors, get in the truck and back up to the pile, get out to push the up button then get in the truck pull forward, get out and push the down button and to close the gates

The wireless remote would save one time from getting in n out




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Windycity is offline  
Old 03-20-2019, 06:16 PM   #17
Pro
 
Donohue Const's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Granada, MN
Posts: 1,068
Rewards Points: 1,530

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


the one in the pic has a scissor hoist on it
that's what mine has, I've been told it's better then the kind with two rams on it for dumping power

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
__________________
Ryan
-----------
www.ryandonohueconstruction.com
Donohue Const is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Donohue Const For This Useful Post:
tgeb (03-21-2019)
Old 03-20-2019, 06:19 PM   #18
Pro
 
SearchforSignal's Avatar
 
Trade: Low voltage
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 630

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan80 View Post
I have a 12í Imago , great trailer.
Never loan it out , it will last longer.

One bit of advice , get expanded metal on the ramps , real easy to run a wheelbarrow up.

Good looking trailer you are thinking about.
Charlie


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Will definitely get expanded ramps. Thanks

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
SearchforSignal is offline  
Old 03-20-2019, 06:20 PM   #19
Pro
 
SearchforSignal's Avatar
 
Trade: Low voltage
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 630

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Donohue Const View Post
the one in the pic has a scissor hoist on it
that's what mine has, I've been told it's better then the kind with two rams on it for dumping power

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
Yes I want stability when the load is high as well.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
SearchforSignal is offline  
Old 03-20-2019, 06:23 PM   #20
Pro
 
SearchforSignal's Avatar
 
Trade: Low voltage
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 398
Rewards Points: 630

Re: Dump Trailer Opinions And Options!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Windycity View Post
I have a Lamar trailer as well and in my opinion the dump trailer was a very good investment. Mine is only a 5x10 but it has a 10k Gross. i use it to haul primarily masonry and concrete debris and when I dump it is usually right at 8000 pounds of payload putting it at 10k gross

Dump trailers are very easy to overload

Your options sound good but I wouldnít hesitate to get the wireless remote because you will have to pull forward to get all the debris out when you dump it so it will be nice to be able to push the up button while sitting in your truck and just pull forward.

Currently I have to open the barn doors, get in the truck and back up to the pile, get out to push the up button then get in the truck pull forward, get out and push the down button and to close the gates

The wireless remote would save one time from getting in n out




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes that us a mandatory option now. Thanks.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Advertisement

SearchforSignal is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?