DCN680 Not Setting Brads - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

DCN680 Not Setting Brads

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2019, 10:02 PM   #1
Registered User
 
Thadayus's Avatar
 
Trade: Trim carpenter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3

DCN680 Not Setting Brads


So as the title says, my 20v brad nailer isn't setting brads. It not only doesn't set them, but it looks like the drive pin is only catching part of the head of the brad so it leaves a larger hole that normal. I have the depth adjustment as low as it can go, even trimmed a bit of the no mar nose off. Any thoughts?

Last edited by Thadayus; 08-11-2019 at 10:08 PM.
Thadayus is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 08-11-2019, 10:12 PM   #2
Pro
 
pizalm's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 494
Rewards Points: 818

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


I havenít had that problem. I have the depth adjustment maxed out the opposite way and it drives the brads to deep still.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Advertisement

pizalm is offline  
Old 08-11-2019, 10:18 PM   #3
Pro
 
MarkJames's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman Services
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Arlington, VA
Posts: 8,887
Rewards Points: 14,081

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


Lubrication, maybe? Could be that the nails are not sliding fully forward after each shot.

I just had that happen with a rental carpet stapler. I had to reset the clip after every shot in order to tack down three steps worth of carpet.

Last edited by MarkJames; 08-11-2019 at 10:27 PM.
MarkJames is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-12-2019, 05:09 AM   #4
Pro
 
mrcat's Avatar
 
Trade: Pole Barns, Residential Framing
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Fingerlakes NY
Posts: 750
Rewards Points: 636

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


Did it get dropped? I know on the 20v framing nailers, the magazine would get shifted back from a fall, causing similar feed issues.

The fix was to remove the magazine from the nailer, split it in half, and re-install, there is a couple tabs on the nose of the nailer the magazine clips into.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
mrcat is online now  
Old 08-12-2019, 08:07 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Thadayus's Avatar
 
Trade: Trim carpenter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


I'll give those two ideas a shot. Thanks peoples
Thadayus is offline  
Old 08-12-2019, 12:33 PM   #6
Pro
 
pizalm's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 494
Rewards Points: 818

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


Where do you have the brads sitting in the magazine? All the way against the front or further towards the back?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
pizalm is offline  
Old 08-12-2019, 07:48 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Thadayus's Avatar
 
Trade: Trim carpenter
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 3

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


So I took the plastic off tonight to make sure it was clean, put it all back together, fired a shot and this came out. Fired it a few more times, no problem and finally got a hole only the size of the brad. Looks like it's been jammed in there for a bit. I don't know if it's important or a mistake from the factory, but it shoots good now!
Attached Thumbnails
DCN680 not setting brads-20190812_194823_1565657314020.jpg  
Thadayus is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Thadayus For This Useful Post:
Defenestrate (08-18-2019), mrcat (08-12-2019)
Old 08-12-2019, 10:31 PM   #8
Always Learning
 
overanalyze's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder/Remodeler
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 8,121
Rewards Points: 774

Re: DCN680 Not Setting Brads


No matter what your mind tells you...never add oil or any lubricant to any Dewalt cordless nailer!!

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Advertisement

__________________
It is what it is...now fix it.
overanalyze is online now  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?