Compressor Questions - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

Compressor Questions

Old 09-22-2020, 11:55 PM   #1

Trade: Paint and Floors
Rewards Points: 74

Compressor Questions

My porter cable pancake that I have been using for 10 years finally crapped out on me, not the un-godly loud motor but the thin metal tank at the relief valve. I have wanted to replace it for a while, but now that I HAVE too, I realize that I don't know enough to make a decision on what will be a good purchase.

Seems like the consensus from past posts is that the Rolair and the California compressors are the favorites in the forums. But I am still confused on the size of tank and motor I need. The PC pancake was a 6 gal 150 psi max .8 HP and said 2.6 SCFM @ 90 psi.

All the smaller jobsite rolair/california compressors have more horsepower but smaller tanks. Does that mean that the compressor will run more frequently than the 6 gal porter cable, but also refill quicker? Or are the better compressors more efficient and will run the same the same amount of times to refill.

Also bonus question, I use a 50' 3/8" flexzilla hose for all my guns, should I run a smaller hose for better performance. I currently run brad and pin nailers for finish trim. Sometimes I will run a siding gun for wood replacement and even a coil framer when I need to frame a couple walls.

I do plan to buy all new fittings for the guns and hose, to cut back on leaks.
Thanks in advance.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 09-23-2020, 03:28 AM   #2
Focusing on solutions.

Trade: hardwood floor contractor & so much more
Rewards Points: 72

Re: Compressor Questions