Buildclean Review - Page 4 - Tools & Equipment - Contractor Talk

Buildclean Review

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2016, 06:20 PM   #61
Grunt
 
LI-Remodeler's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeler
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 320

Re: Buildclean Review


I'm currently in the market for air filtration. I've been doing my research and BuildClean doesn't come close to others for same price or less.

What is the clean-room classification for BuildClean? There is very limited information on their web page on specifications and that doesn't sit well with me.

I need real filtration that can do real volume, not something that is superficial and looks good in the middle of the room.
LI-Remodeler is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 03-21-2016, 12:55 AM   #62
Pro
 
charimon's Avatar
 
Trade: Tile and Tool junkie
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Omaha NE
Posts: 1,857
Rewards Points: 1,168

Re: Buildclean Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by LI-Remodeler View Post
I need real filtration that can do real volume, not something that is superficial and looks good in the middle of the room.
What CFM are you thinking BiuldClean has 600.
charimon is offline  
Old 03-21-2016, 05:25 AM   #63
Grunt
 
LI-Remodeler's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeler
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 320

Re: Buildclean Review


looking into 1000 cfm with a minimum of a cleanroom classification of ISO 5
LI-Remodeler is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to LI-Remodeler For This Useful Post:
charimon (03-21-2016)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-25-2016, 10:23 AM   #64
Pro
 
madmax718's Avatar
 
Trade: General
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,775
Rewards Points: 3,272

Re: Buildclean Review


You'd need quite a few filter units to try and replicate an ISO 5- let alone the dust you'd create during a job. You could use a few ducted units to bring filtered air in, and a few filters running the air out.

Its unrealistic in a portable job site situation to try and obtain such levels of filtration. The amount of air you would have to move to try and collect those tiny particulates in way above 600cfm, unless the room was particularly tiny.

One of the stipulations of air filtration is that enough air must be physically moved for the filter to pickup particulates. you can have a super hepa filter, but if it moves 1cfm, you cant clean the air 12 feet away.
madmax718 is offline  
Old 04-09-2016, 08:01 AM   #65
Grunt
 
LI-Remodeler's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeler
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 172
Rewards Points: 320

Re: Buildclean Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by madmax718 View Post

One of the stipulations of air filtration is that enough air must be physically moved for the filter to pickup particulates.

I agree and that's one of the reasons why I invested in a larger machine that can move air. Novair 2000. Used it for the first time this last week on a restoration/painting job and it performed above my expectations at the lower level of 1000cfm, on high level 2000cfm it's a beast. Not loud at all and easily portable with two guys.

It pulls high volumes of air so fast the dust has little time to settle. I wanted an air scrubber that can stay ahead of your work not have to catch up.
LI-Remodeler is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to LI-Remodeler For This Useful Post:
Metro M & L (04-09-2016)
Old 03-02-2019, 09:52 AM   #66
Registered User
 
JDSpaceman's Avatar
 
Trade: Space Improvements
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New Albany, OH
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4

Re: Buildclean Review


Good morning. I'm new to this blog.

How are these units running 3 years later?
Still worth the investment?
How long did the prefilters last? (last post had caked prefilter but still working)

Any other brand to check out if these aren't a "recommended buy"?
JDSpaceman is offline  
Old 03-02-2019, 10:42 AM   #67
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,981
Rewards Points: 282

Re: Buildclean Review


We still use ours on most jobs we do. One of them quit working last week but I believe it to be a sort of electrical issue as the gfci on the unit tripped and will not reset.

Pre-filters get cleaned several times a day on heavy demo (take this to mean plaster or masonry demo) We do our best to collect dust at the tool and minimize airborne dust in the first place.

On a kitchen remodel with any reasonable amount of demo filters get changed at the end of the job. Smaller jobs we don't bother tossing the filter if there is still life left in it.

Early on we made the mistake of trying to blow out the pre-filter a bunch to save money and then the Hepa filter ends up doing more of the work and it's a lot more expensive to replace than the pre-filter.
Xtrememtnbiker is online now  
Old 03-02-2019, 10:54 AM   #68
Registered User
 
JDSpaceman's Avatar
 
Trade: Space Improvements
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: New Albany, OH
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4

Re: Buildclean Review


how much is a HEPA filter? life span in days or weeks of run time?

do you think that GFCI is covered under warranty? or fixable yourself?
JDSpaceman is offline  
Old 03-02-2019, 11:33 AM   #69
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,981
Rewards Points: 282

Re: Buildclean Review


Hepa filter is $150. Pre-filters are $25.

It's really hard to say on the hours of run time because it depends a great deal on what level of dust you're creating. If you're gutting a big kitchen with plaster (which we just did) by the time you're done you might as well throw that filter away and put on a new one, and this is after using a cordless leaf blower to blow it out many times.

Not sure on the warranty. I'll be trying to take care of that next week. I'm far too busy to try to fix it myself so either they will take care of it under warranty or I'll be sending it in.
Xtrememtnbiker is online now  
Old 03-02-2019, 09:27 PM   #70
Pro
 
mstrat's Avatar
 
Trade: New Construction & Remodeling
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 885
Rewards Points: 1,500

Re: Buildclean Review


I vacuum pre-filters every night before leaving... and replace them every bad dusty job.
mstrat is offline  
Old 05-14-2019, 08:27 PM   #71
Pro
 
J.C.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Cabinet Maker
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,405
Rewards Points: 144
Thumbs down

Re: Buildclean Review


I got a buildclean a few months ago and figured I'd give my review. I'd say customer service seems to be severely lacking. The short version of the story is I kept getting an Error 2 and had a hard time getting a response from buildclean. After I did talk to them, it seems to just be a faulty prefilter and they said they would replace it. Well, it's been over a month now with no replacement filter and no response back from them. This is my first and last BuildClean.
__________________
I do not prize the word "cheap." It is not a badge of honor...it is a symbol of despair. Cheap prices make for cheap goods; cheap goods make for cheap men; and cheap men make for a cheap country. ~ William McKinley
J.C. is offline  
Old 05-15-2019, 01:05 PM   #72
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,981
Rewards Points: 282

Re: Buildclean Review


That is odd. Quite a different experience than I have had with the customer service.

We have had two units replaced for free (not sure what that says about the units...?) including the one that was out of warranty.
Xtrememtnbiker is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Xtrememtnbiker For This Useful Post:
J.C. (05-15-2019)
Old 05-15-2019, 02:06 PM   #73
Remodeling GC
 
kevjob's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling General Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 2,700
Rewards Points: 2,070

Re: Buildclean Review


I have my Ermator A600 x2 for 3 years now and never an issue with any of them, if you are interested.

https://www.amazon.com/Pullman-Ermat.../dp/B01LZ43WXE

I bought my second one for 635.00, first one was closer to 800.00
kevjob is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to kevjob For This Useful Post:
J.C. (05-15-2019)
Old 05-15-2019, 07:49 PM   #74
Pro
 
J.C.'s Avatar
 
Trade: Cabinet Maker
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1,405
Rewards Points: 144

Re: Buildclean Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by Xtrememtnbiker View Post
That is odd. Quite a different experience than I have had with the customer service.

We have had two units replaced for free (not sure what that says about the units...?) including the one that was out of warranty.
Have you called them or emailed them? I've mainly emailed but have also called them once. It's been the "product manager" I've been in contact with.

What type of problems have you had with your units?
__________________
I do not prize the word "cheap." It is not a badge of honor...it is a symbol of despair. Cheap prices make for cheap goods; cheap goods make for cheap men; and cheap men make for a cheap country. ~ William McKinley
J.C. is offline  
Old 05-15-2019, 08:41 PM   #75
Pro
 
Xtrememtnbiker's Avatar
 
Trade: General Remodeling
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,981
Rewards Points: 282

Re: Buildclean Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by J.C. View Post
Have you called them or emailed them? I've mainly emailed but have also called them once. It's been the "product manager" I've been in contact with.

What type of problems have you had with your units?
Always called, never emailed.

First unit was some sort of error code that was a known issue for them and they replaced that unit. Second unit was they had a bad batch of GFCI's a few years back, also a known issue and they replaced that unit.

The bad GFCI unit was out of warranty but they replaced it anyway and since it was out of warranty I didn't have to send it in. You better believe it's got a GFCI from off the shelf at Lowes in it now...

Advertisement

Xtrememtnbiker is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Xtrememtnbiker For This Useful Post:
J.C. (05-16-2019)


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Website review if you have the time TLHWindows Websites and SEO 35 09-16-2013 12:48 PM
Deck Construction @ Winery: Review Our Plans? dutchswan General Discussion 14 05-23-2013 12:14 PM
Website Review Input tonyc56 Websites and SEO 12 01-02-2013 05:26 AM
Agreement Not to Review EcoStar Remodel General Discussion 10 06-04-2011 05:06 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?