Is There A Way To Get Your Licence To Build New Homes Without Being A Carpenter? - Construction - Contractor Talk

Is There A Way To Get Your Licence To Build New Homes Without Being A Carpenter?

Old 07-14-2019, 07:58 AM   #1

Trade: Carpenter. New homes, Extensions, Renovations
Rewards Points: 26

Is There A Way To Get Your Licence To Build New Homes Without Being A Carpenter?

Here in aus, its pretty trade based. I'm a carpenter but did my apprenticeship with my old man and we only do bathroom and kitchen remodelling.

I also have a diploma in building and construction. The next qualification up is a construction management degree.

What i'm asking is if there is a way, in an Australian state or in the USA to be a new home builder without having a trade background in new homes?
The Following User Says Thank You to aussie1994 For This Useful Post:
dielectricunion (07-16-2019)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-14-2019, 10:21 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: Contractor Grunt
Rewards Points: 66

Re: Is There A Way To Get Your Licence To Build New Homes Without Being A Carpenter?

Yes

Advertisement

Old 07-14-2019, 12:37 PM   #3

Re: Is There A Way To Get Your Licence To Build New Homes Without Being A Carpenter?

What would be the best way to do this?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-14-2019, 01:15 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Home improvement of all types
Rewards Points: 4

It all depends on your local laws, rules , and regulations .

Here in the US , there are vastly different requirements from state to state and even town to town