Spec Homes Vs Custom - Construction - Contractor Talk

Spec Homes Vs Custom

Old 01-12-2012, 03:14 PM   #1

Trade: Insulation
Rewards Points: 37

Spec Homes Vs Custom

I'm in the planning phase of building a spec home and I was just wondering what the pros and cons of building on spec vs building customs are from those who've done both? I'm currently a sub contractor and my intent is to build one or two spec houses this year and possibly transition into the custom market in the future. First house will be built under the guise as an owner builder, and I very well may move in there until if I can't sell it quickly. It's my understanding that doing this too frequently will trigger the good ol' IRS to consider me a homebuilder instead of taxing me on capital gains. Does that sound about right? Anyone on here done this before?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-12-2012, 07:11 PM   #2
Pro

Trade: Remodeler
Rewards Points: 4,494

Re: Spec Homes Vs Custom

Building a spec house is just that...speculation. Maybe somebody will buy it, maybe they won't.
A true custom home is one that the buyer sits down with the architect and has a home designed to their specific tastes and to fit their specific building site. The hard work is done, all you have to do is build it

Advertisement

Old 01-13-2012, 06:51 AM   #3
Thom

Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Rewards Points: 4,748

I've done both. Early on I built some customs and did remodel (additions) and commercial remodel. The last custom/remodel ($1M+) almost killed me, not financially but dealing with the owners. Then I switched strictly to specs, even turned down customs.