Setting Posts In Concrete - Construction - Contractor Talk

Setting Posts In Concrete

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2010, 09:08 PM   #1
Member
 
randybelk@comca's Avatar
 
Trade: CONTRACTOR
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Athens, Tennessee
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25

Setting Posts In Concrete


Hey folks,
I have a customer wanting to build a carport. Lots of structural problems to resolve. wants it 22' by 30' all clear span. His idea is for it to have large Douglas Fir beams. No cieling just huge trusses. 3 large dormers down the 22' side on each side. 30' wide to get 3 cars wide. Wants to use 3 8x8 posts at each corner.
This thing is not attached to anything. Stands by itself about 24' from the house with a 5' breezeway connecting the house and carport.
Now then, I think I need to set these posts in concrete, but I wonder if there is some kind of boot or sleeve I can use to keep the concrete from eating away at the post. Usually those things eat away right at the top of the concrete.
Any Ideas.
I wont even get started on what I need for a beam to support the 30' span.
Gonna need an engineer!
randybelk@comca is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-28-2010, 09:27 PM   #2
General Contractor
 
Willie T's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Petersburg, FL Minds of moderate caliber ordinarily condemn everything which is beyond their range.
Posts: 3,444
Rewards Points: 12

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


When did concrete start eating wood?

Advertisement

__________________
"True eloquence consists in saying all that is necessary, and only that which is."
François Duc de La Rochefoucauld
Bill Everett - St. Petersburg, FL
Willie T is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Willie T For This Useful Post:
neolitic (06-28-2010)
Old 06-28-2010, 09:50 PM   #3
Contractor
 
AustinDB's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling & Home Additions
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,314
Rewards Points: 1,104

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


maybe after you customer sees the estimate for engineer's fee and the tall steel I beams, he'll think twice and be happy with an extra post at the halfway point.
AustinDB is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-28-2010, 09:53 PM   #4
Pro
 
KennMacMoragh's Avatar
 
Trade: Repair/Remodel
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 3,902
Rewards Points: 3,262

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


The only time I've ever seen a post in concrete for a house is inside a garage. For a carport; I've never seen that, I've only ever seen them either on piers or on top of the slab. I think the post would rot doing it the way you explain it, even with a boot.

But why would you want to set the posts in concrete ? Doesn't sound normal.
KennMacMoragh is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 10:24 PM   #5
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


Any one ever seen a pole barn?
__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)
neolitic is offline  
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to neolitic For This Useful Post:
BuiltByMAC (06-28-2010), Framer53 (06-29-2010), JustaFramer (06-28-2010)
Old 06-28-2010, 10:28 PM   #6
Wood Butcher
 
bhock's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodels/Custom Cabinets/Granite Countertops
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Buffalo, WY
Posts: 977
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


As Neo said Pole Barn. We have built up to 16 foot side walls with the poles just buried in the ground no need for concrete.
I don't understand or I am reading it wrong when you say you need a beam to span the 30 foot? Usually you just run a 2x12 on each side of the posts to carry your trusses.

Last edited by bhock; 06-28-2010 at 10:32 PM.
bhock is offline  
Old 06-28-2010, 10:48 PM   #7
Pro
 
Kgmz's Avatar
 
Trade: General, Electrical, and Plumbing Contractor
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Portland, OR & Eatonville, WA
Posts: 1,300
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


Looks like he only wants 4 posts at each corner, and that is why the 30 foot beam to carry the trusses.

No way I would do this without a engineer. Think about the lateral loads, you will have all that weight sitting on just 4 posts and they will look like toothpicks holding that up. Whats to keep it from folding over.

It can be done, but like mentioned earlier you are going to have to use steel posts and probably lightweight steel trusses. Think about a gas station canopy and then think about what is holding those steel posts in the ground, deep and a lot of concrete.
Kgmz is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 04:08 PM   #8
Member
 
randybelk@comca's Avatar
 
Trade: CONTRACTOR
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Athens, Tennessee
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


Ok, guys, the customer wants total of 12, 8x8 posts. 3 posts on each corner. sort of L shaped deal. 3.5 inches between posts.
The reason for concrete was to hold the thing in the ground. One might get a good windstorm and pull the thing loose. it is open all the way through. The ends are not closed off. Could possibly get a lot of up draft in a good storm.
randybelk@comca is offline  
Old 06-29-2010, 04:30 PM   #9
Pro
 
dprimc's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 596

Re: Setting Posts In Concrete


I would think it would be engineered for some sort of post base like a Simpson CB88 or something. That would be set in the concrete and the post would get bolted to it.

At least around here anyway.

Advertisement

dprimc is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4x4 posts in concrete vs. saddles Strongarm Decks & Fencing 20 08-31-2009 09:41 PM
Setting fence posts on top of concrete retaining wall Tim C. Decks & Fencing 7 06-04-2009 07:16 AM
Embedding W10 beam in concrete footing Greg Di Construction 31 02-20-2009 08:45 AM
Tampa, FL. Concrete Forklift Ramp Needed phattractor Help Wanted or Looking For Work 0 02-10-2009 02:26 PM
tunneling under concrete wireless General Discussion 5 01-13-2009 06:45 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?