Recording Studio Build Out - Construction - Contractor Talk

Recording Studio Build Out

Old 08-15-2019, 10:19 AM   #1

Trade: General contractor

Recording Studio Build Out

Hey guys. So I'm bidding on building out a recording studio and I'm in need of help. I've never done the sound proofing thing before. I have a large empty commercial building that we will be framing in. Walls are 14 feet tall, sheeted, seam taped, all filled with sand then drywaller. We are framing subflooring that is filled with sand. Electrical is all wrapped, everything is isolated for sound. Everything is screwed and bolted, no nails. The job is 4 hours from home so I have hotel cost, per diem, etc. What are people getting per ft. On something like this. My bid is labor only. I have an idea but was wondering if someone has experience with this, thanks!

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 08-15-2019, 11:00 AM   #2
Fire up the BBQ

Trade: GC
Rewards Points: 3,054

Re: Recording Studio Build Out

unless you are a highly specialized outfit that does this type of work on a regular basis it is virtually impossible to put a per sq ft price on it.

my gut tells me that if you are even thinking $/sq ft this particular job would not be a good option for you.

Advertisement

overanalyze (08-16-2019)
Old 08-16-2019, 02:00 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: I'll do that for 500 bucks.
Rewards Points: 10,844

How would you even do square foot on a complicated job like this with many moving parts.

Besides, how would we know.

Lots of variables.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Advertisement

Old 08-16-2019, 08:41 PM   #4
Pro

Trade: Remodeling
Rewards Points: 3,282