Moving Building Several Feet - Construction - Contractor Talk

Moving Building Several Feet

Old 12-27-2018, 11:03 PM   #1

Trade: Carpenter

Moving Building Several Feet

Hi, I've browsed here a bit in the past, this is my first post.
I'm a carpenter. I may look dumb in what follows but usually I know what I'm doing... Usually. Sometimes.
I found a house I can afford (a rare thing), needs work and I'm willing to do it. The best thing about it, though, is a nice big pole barn where I could set up a shop.
After living in an apartment for 4 years that will be like heaven.
The problem, however, is that the pole barn encroaches on the neighbor's (farmland) property by several feet.
Long story short, I can't get the property line adjusted now, and there's the chance he'll make trouble about it later if I buy it because I think he wants that property too and might get bitter.

So bottom line: I'm wondering what it would entail to move a pole barn 10 feet or less. I looked it up and it seems doable. I will have to go back out to get measurements and details (I plan to take another look in a day or so). The main thing I'm curious about is that it was on a concrete slab. If I move it, it will still be mostly on the current slab; will that be a problem? Could I pour a second slab next to that or would it be an issue? Maybe find a way to connect the two slabs with rebar? Set one half on the slab and on the other set new posts in the ground next to the old posts?

What do you think and also what do you think it might cost if I had someone else do it?

I found information about moving buildings but not for moving them just several feet.

Thank you in advance.

(In the pic from outside you can see the post marking the property line half way between the tree and the building, it's maybe even 1 or 2 feet over plus probably several feet for zoning)
Attached Thumbnails