First Time With Sub Contractors - Construction - Contractor Talk

First Time With Sub Contractors

Old 06-24-2015, 02:57 AM   #1

Trade: General
Rewards Points: 6

First Time With Sub Contractors

Hey all, in the past I've normally done jobs on my own but I got a project which will require me to get subcontractors on board so I'm relatively new to dealing with them. I have a couple of questions, (1) is it normal to mark up on their billings even though I won't be involved hands-on with their work besides a supervisory role; (2) am I legally responsible if the subcontractor does a bad job?

Thanks for the help.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 06-24-2015, 04:09 AM   #2
Pro

Trade: general contractor
Rewards Points: 1,120

Re: First Time With Sub Contractors

Short answer, yes and yes.
You should be compensated for making sure that the subs do their jobs in a timely manor as well as quality workmanship. If they do a poor job it not only reflects on you but you will be responsible for fixing it.

Advertisement

Old 06-24-2015, 07:36 AM   #3
Pro

Trade: interior remodeling
Rewards Points: 2,664

As Dave said<"Yes and Yes"

You need to be compensated for your time hiring and getting the quotes--
Supervising and covering anything that they do not do that is part of the work--
for example---protecting the area--patching wood and drywall disturbed when they do their job---paying them and waiting for the client to pay you--

On a big job 15 to 20% is common---an a little job where your expenses and profit would not be covered ,an hourly based fee might be the way to go.