AIA G703 - Concealing Profit - Construction - Contractor Talk

AIA G703 - Concealing Profit

Old 04-07-2014, 12:49 PM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 16

AIA G703 - Concealing Profit

Hi all,

I am a commercial general contractor in Los Angeles. My question concerns how other GCs conceal their profit when invoicing the client with AIA form G703 AND submitting my subcontractor's conditional releases. More of my clients are starting to request that I use both G703 and provide my subcontractor's conditional releases when I invoice my client.

My approved construction bid was broken out by CSI number (trade), however I put my hidden markup on each trade in addition to an overall (visible) markup on the construction value. I've used the same breakouts in my G703 pay application...ex: Item #1: general conditions, Item #2: demo, etc. Now here is where I'm stuck, as I only see 2 bad options:

Option 1: Show the true subcontractor bid amounts in the SCHEDULED VALUE column and the true profit value as one of the Item #s. Therefore the amount being invoiced on subcontractor's conditional waiver would match the amount being invoiced in G703.

Option 2: Show the marked up subcontractor bid amounts and profit amounts in the SCHEDULED VALUE column per the original construction bid that the client has seen. I would still have to get conditional waivers from my subs, which would mean requesting them to provide "fake" conditional waivers with the marked up value (I have a good longtime relationships with them).

Obviously, both options are not ideal. Allowing my client to see my true profit would make change orders and future bids with the client much more difficult as they would have an idea of my true profit and try to negotiate me down.

Any ideas?