Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question - Windows, Siding and Doors - Contractor Talk

Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2011, 03:06 PM   #1
Pro
 
enforcer's Avatar
 
Trade: windows-siding
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 658
Rewards Points: 500

Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


we are doing vinyl shakes with a tear off. customer has fiber board instead of wood sheathing. you could just stud nail regular horizontal but thats not going to be so effective with vinyl shakes which need to be center nailed. we are using 7/16 OSB and of course a house wrap. any opinions on 7/16 OSB for wall sheathing?
enforcer is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-27-2011, 05:29 PM   #2
Custom Builder
 
Chris@Sunrise's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central Oregon, Bend, Redmond, Sisters
Posts: 1,412
Rewards Points: 502

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


OSB does not hold nails for shake as well as plywood. Any time we have to nail off studs we use ply or have blocking in the wall cavity.

Advertisement

Chris@Sunrise is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 06:28 PM   #3
Pro
 
Framer53's Avatar
 
Trade: Handyman
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Utica,NY
Posts: 3,005
Rewards Points: 366

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
OSB does not hold nails for shake as well as plywood. Any time we have to nail off studs we use ply or have blocking in the wall cavity.
Funny I was about to say the exact opposite.

I have nailed and stapled shakes to OSB with never a problem.

I sided a condo project with vinyl shakes in 1991 or 2 and still on the buildings, no problems at all.

Put it up and forget about it. This old school preference for plywood is just silly today.......
Framer53 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-27-2011, 07:24 PM   #4
Thomas J Marino, Inc
 
thomasjmarino's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Home Builder/General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach Island, NJ
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Framer53 View Post
Funny I was about to say the exact opposite.

I have nailed and stapled shakes to OSB with never a problem.

I sided a condo project with vinyl shakes in 1991 or 2 and still on the buildings, no problems at all.

Put it up and forget about it. This old school preference for plywood is just silly today.......
I have to agree, even though I am one of the old schoolers when it comes to plywood.
There are tons of houses built here with OSB on the walls and I haven't seen or heard of any problems with the siding.
Now roof sheathing on the other hand...
thomasjmarino is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 07:27 PM   #5
PRO
 
BrandConst's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,936
Rewards Points: 1,004

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


I can't remember the last time I saw a house or building sheathed with plywood. OSB is here to stay...stick it.
BrandConst is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 07:37 PM   #6
Thomas J Marino, Inc
 
thomasjmarino's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Home Builder/General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Long Beach Island, NJ
Posts: 1,078
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandConst View Post
I can't remember the last time I saw a house or building sheathed with plywood. OSB is here to stay...stick it.
you don't get out much!
thomasjmarino is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 07:46 PM   #7
PRO
 
BrandConst's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,936
Rewards Points: 1,004

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasjmarino View Post
you don't get out much!
When I started in this business 15 years ago it was for lennar, yea I know track homes. At the time plywood was a custom builder preference not production builders. Now it's obsolete around here, havent seen it on a house in over 10 years probably.
BrandConst is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 07:56 PM   #8
Pro
 
Tom Struble's Avatar
 
Trade: siding
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: west milford n.j.
Posts: 17,271
Rewards Points: 20

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


Chris i think is right osb dosn't hold nails as well as ply,we think of vinyl as a fairly light product but it moves around quite a bit on the nail shank and the nails can loosen up over time

these pics are from a recent ''band shrinkage'' repair on a house sheathed with osb, it's hard to see but the nails were loose and the nail holes elongated from the pressure
Attached Thumbnails
Opinions ---- OSB sheathing question-0625111055.jpg   Opinions ---- OSB sheathing question-0625111055a.jpg  
__________________
Tom
Tom Struble is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 10:54 PM   #9
Pro
 
welterweight's Avatar
 
Trade: sales
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 556
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


I've used 7/16 OSB a few times and it held nails well.
welterweight is offline  
Old 06-27-2011, 11:32 PM   #10
Custom Builder
 
Chris@Sunrise's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central Oregon, Bend, Redmond, Sisters
Posts: 1,412
Rewards Points: 502

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


Try and demo both shingles fastened to osb and then fastened to ply. I know for a fact that the staples are harder to pull out in shakes when applied over ply then osb.
I love osb. Think its a great product, just not if your putting 20000 staples holding siding thats constantly moving. Just my opinion based on using and demoing off both substrates.
Chris@Sunrise is offline  
Old 06-28-2011, 07:33 AM   #11
Pro
 
enforcer's Avatar
 
Trade: windows-siding
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 658
Rewards Points: 500

Re: Opinions ---- OSB Sheathing Question


We are only sheathing the front..the sides and back have fiberboard and we are using insulated siding and will nail into the studs.

Advertisement

enforcer is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Roof Sheathing Question WhitlockConst Framing 24 05-14-2013 06:44 AM
Sheathing bad? KennMacMoragh Remodeling 3 01-10-2010 08:53 PM
House wrap and foam board question (help) mikeydeuce Windows, Siding and Doors 32 01-08-2010 08:36 AM
Metal roof question Burby Roofing 11 01-22-2009 01:16 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?