Opinions On Horizontal Roller Impact Windows VS Single Hung Impact Windows Security - Windows, Siding and Doors - Contractor Talk

Opinions On Horizontal Roller Impact Windows VS Single Hung Impact Windows Security

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2009, 10:06 AM   #1
 
heydade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Opinions On Horizontal Roller Impact Windows VS Single Hung Impact Windows Security


I got into installing impact windows here in South Florida. A few of my customers have expressed concerns over horizontal roller impact windows. They have told me that they have heard from their neighbors that the horizontal rollers can be pried up and out of their tracks. Any truth to this ? I don't know what to tell them. Are single hung windows superior to horizontal sliders as far as security goes ? Your advice is greatly appreciated.

NHS shutter INC.
heydade is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 08-07-2009, 10:43 AM   #2
New Guy
 
fenestrationman's Avatar
 
Trade: Engineering Windows and Doors
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Graceton, PA
Posts: 26
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Opinions On Horizontal Roller Impact Windows VS Single Hung Impact Windows Security


All of the sliders that I have worked on in the past, whether it be design, manufacturing or installation have an added feature. There are anti lift blocks inside the head portion of the masterframe. Typically it is a length of extrusion that snaps in place, and when the window is locked, prevents this from happening. Now if the window is unlocked, you can slide the sash to one side and lift it out, but the would be bad guy would just crawl through the sash opening in this case.
Another note. If the window is certified through AAMA, and has a test report, part of the testing is forced entry resistance. The tecnician is given various tools that most people possess, and a given amount of time to break in.
Hope this helps.

Advertisement

fenestrationman is offline  
Old 09-10-2009, 09:49 PM   #3
 
shriber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Opinions On Horizontal Roller Impact Windows VS Single Hung Impact Windows Security


It's much easier to break into a slider when partially open, after all, who uses their a/c 24/7? You can open a single hung 8" and the only thing anyone coould fit would be a forearm - no one would be able to reach any security pins installed into the frame. With a slider, they'd have their entire arm to work with.
shriber is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows XP Mode in Windows 7! gideond Technology 9 05-14-2009 11:34 PM
Finishing windows before installation??? nwksremodeler Windows, Siding and Doors 9 03-11-2009 07:32 PM
impact windows, doors, storefront dannno1967 Help Wanted or Looking For Work 2 04-27-2008 08:45 PM
Windows - Blind Inside? MHMConstruction Remodeling 9 10-06-2007 03:53 PM
how are Atrium double hung windows? bmf5150 Windows, Siding and Doors 6 01-08-2006 04:06 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?