My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle - Page 2 - Electrical Picture Post - Contractor Talk

My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2008, 08:59 AM   #21
Pro
 
31b's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, PA
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 150

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by 22rifle View Post
BTW, if you put a GFI receptacle in and use it to protect additional receptacles, wouldn't you have to daisy chain then? Seems like I remember that was the only time I daisy chained.
yeah in the case of a GFCI you would use both terminals as line and load for it to detect the current difference.
31b is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 07-06-2008, 09:15 AM   #22
Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 265
Rewards Points: 250

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Overload? If those conductors are protected by the proper size OCPD and the connections are tight, how would an overload cause that damage? That picture looks like a classic loose connection. And feeding 20 amps through the terminal screws of a 15 or 20 amp receptacle will not cause any problems, that is why the practice is not prohibited by the NEC.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline  
Old 07-06-2008, 03:01 PM   #23
Pro
 
31b's Avatar
 
Trade: electrician
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, PA
Posts: 182
Rewards Points: 150

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Overload? If those conductors are protected by the proper size OCPD and the connections are tight, how would an overload cause that damage? That picture looks like a classic loose connection. And feeding 20 amps through the terminal screws of a 15 or 20 amp receptacle will not cause any problems, that is why the practice is not prohibited by the NEC.
the connections were definitely tight on 4 of the 5 terminals. The other one as I stated I started to unscrew myself before the picture was taken, but just said screw it after the whole terminal was somewhat moveable on the melting frame, and I just cut the wires. It might have been somewhat loose possibly, but it appeared to be screwed down tight on the wire at the time. In the picture though, yes that terminal has been loosened.

There is the possibility of overload, as it was not a heavy duty grade receptacle. It was a cheap 15 amp receptacle on a 20 amp OCPD (was 12 wire though), daisy-chained sharing the entire load of everything (and then some that shouldn't have been on that circuit) down the line.

God knows how old the breakers are, who's to say they'd actually trip either - there could have been more than 20 amps flowing through that. In theory the wire is rated for up to 30, but that receptacle is not. Regardless though, problem solved... new wire, quality receptacles and a AFCI breaker
31b is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-07-2008, 07:06 AM   #24
Head Grunt
 
woodchuck2's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical Contractor&Home Maintenance
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Creek, NY/Lower Adirondacks
Posts: 3,270
Rewards Points: 2,196

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
Loose wires cause fires. When you see a receptacle all melted like that, it was just a loose connection that declared itself. It might just be an illusion, but the offending conductor seems to have been backstabbed and not wrapped around the screw. Was that the case?
X2, any time i have found a melted rec in a home it was due to loose connections and not excessive load. I found one once behind a dresser that had actually caught fire and the flames had singed the wall and back of the dresser about three feet up. Both power and neutral were loose on that one.
woodchuck2 is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 10:29 PM   #25
Low Voltage Contractor
 
ChillaWatt's Avatar
 
Trade: C-7
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 75

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by 22rifle View Post
Thanks man.

I need to post a thread asking about twisting wires before you put a wire nut on. I was taught you always do. But I see many electricians who don't and a few who do.

BTW, if you put a GFI receptacle in and use it to protect additional breakers, wouldn't you have to daisy chain then? Seems like I remember that was the only time I daisy chained.

Anyways, thanks for chatting. I like knowing why you guys do what you do. Especially because I have some of it in my background.

My start was rough. I got a copy of the NEC and studied it like crazy because I wanted to do it to code even if no code was enforced. So the electrical forum intrigues me.
When I started out doing residential remodel work the electricians I worked under never used their linemans to twist the wires together before putting the wirenuts on. This was because they were in a hurry to get the splices done, covers on and out of the attic. Aside from adding dedicated circuits, they never shut down the circuit they were working on at the panel because they didn't want to inconvenience the homeowner and it would require multiple trips into the attic. They even showed me how to test whether a circuit was switched or not while up in an attic and found that you had forgot your voltage tester...with your finger!! Such a stupid practice. When I went to work for a commercial electrician I was shown the right ways and the importance of twisting the wires before putting on the wirenuts, and to make sure no copper is seen under the wirenuts. It's easy to think that all is good once you put push the wires back into the box and put that cover on. Double check them and you'll sometimes find a wirenut is just barely on. A little heat through those wires could cause them to dump that wirenut and contact something else, or loosen up and arc.

Nothing wrong with daisy chaining them, but the GFCI has to be first in the series in order to protect the other receptacles.

-Chilla
ChillaWatt is offline  
Old 07-07-2008, 10:40 PM   #26
Low Voltage Contractor
 
ChillaWatt's Avatar
 
Trade: C-7
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: California
Posts: 98
Rewards Points: 75

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by mdshunk View Post
Loose wires cause fires.
An important fact espoused by AC/DC(the band not the current)

"Loose wires cause fires
Gettin' tangled in my desires, so
Screw 'em up and plug 'em in
Then switch it on and start all over again
I'm gonna get it up
Never gonna let it up, no
Tickin' like a time bomb, oh yeah
Blowin' out the fuse box"

-Chilla
ChillaWatt is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 06:24 AM   #27
 
brian11973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 68
Rewards Points: 75

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


1. Pretwisting wires is only as good as the prewisting. I have seen many prewisted connections where the twist is bad & the wirenut is loose. ( Something about the boss did it 50 years ago, big deal). I will put my un prewisted connections againist your prewisted ones! I never said I did 'um loose. Oh, TRY to pretwist stranded!

2. The Code specifically states that all parts of a circuit must be rated for the circuit amps.

3. There is an exception that states that a 15A receptacle may be installed on a 20A circuit. BUT THE RECEPTACLE CAN NOT BE PART OF THE CIRCUIT!!!! Thus NO FAST TAPPING THE PLUGS!! Under the screws counts as fast tapping. Pull 20A through a 15A plug, well IT'S GOING TO MELT! The 15A GFCI's are rated for 20A through them.
brian11973 is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 10:17 AM   #28
Peon
 
kirbymurphy's Avatar
 
Trade: Sales
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: MO
Posts: 131
Rewards Points: 75

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


You can't overload a receptacle that has the proper wire size and proper sized current protection in place, at least for more than a moment or two.

That problem is likely a loose wire; screw not tight or loosened when the wires were folded back into the box. Either way too loose.

Could also be a loose contactor inside the recept that grasps the plug. That would transfer the heat to the screw base. I'm assuming the recept is CU and not AL, like the wires, but can't really see.

When I saw the topic I expected to see a recept with the push-in connections. I NEVER use them. I've seen several meltdowns from them and I'd bet they caused many house fires. They shouldn't be allowed.
kirbymurphy is offline  
Old 07-18-2008, 05:40 PM   #29
Baltimore Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrician
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,249
Rewards Points: 500

Re: My Bedroom's Melting Receptacle


Quote:
Originally Posted by brian11973 View Post
1

3. There is an exception that states that a 15A receptacle may be installed on a 20A circuit. BUT THE RECEPTACLE CAN NOT BE PART OF THE CIRCUIT!!!! Thus NO FAST TAPPING THE PLUGS!! Under the screws counts as fast tapping. Pull 20A through a 15A plug, well IT'S GOING TO MELT! The 15A GFCI's are rated for 20A through them.
Incorrect. the only difference between a 15 amp receptacle and a 20 amp receptacle, of the same grade, is the plastic face. The guts are the same.


Also,

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2007ULWhiteBook
Single and duplex receptacles rated 15 and 20 A that are provided with
more than one set of terminals for the connection of line and neutral conductors
have been investigated to feed branch circuit conductors connected
to o.ther outlets on a multi-outlet branch circuit, as follows:

Back wire (screw actuated clamp type) terminations with multiple wire
a.ccess holes used concurrently to terminate more than one conductor

Side wire (binding screw) terminals used concurrently with their
respective push-in (screwless) terminations to terminate more than one
conductor

Advertisement

__________________
John from Baltimore
"One Day at a Time"
All replies based on the 2008 NEC
Quote:
Originally Posted by celtic
Deny Everything, Admit Nothing, Demand Proof
JohnJ0906 is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI breaker vs GFCI Receptacle gravtyklz Electrical 15 11-06-2019 05:42 PM
Garage receptacle ChuckEA Electrical 21 04-27-2011 06:45 PM
2 designated circuits on one receptacle K2 Electrical 11 05-18-2008 07:16 AM
AFCI breaker and GFCI receptacle ? Bubbles Electrical 7 10-18-2007 08:40 PM
1st Fixture nuts are melting...any ideas why? ericjurin Outdoor Lighting 3 09-02-2007 10:56 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?