Seeking (experienced) Advice, Planning For The Future... - Carpentry - Contractor Talk

Seeking (experienced) Advice, Planning For The Future...

Old 06-06-2019, 07:51 PM   #1

Trade: Residential Carpentry
Rewards Points: 2

Seeking (experienced) Advice, Planning For The Future...

I've been poking around a bit, as I am new to the forum. I've read some very useful/insightful posts. Thank you.

In searching some specific questions, I haven't been able to turn up answers. I'm hoping someone might have some guidance for me by way of a link to an existing thread, or responding.

I've been working as a residential carpenter on and off for the past 6 years. One year of which I had an excellent teacher/mentor, but mostly learning as I went, on my own. Specifically in residential carpentry. Light framing, door/windows, cabinet installs, trim paint/stain grade, that sort of stuff.

At this point in time I'm working with a GC as "his guy." I'm doing everything from frame to finish as a remodeler. I'm considerably more competent with the carpentry aspects of the job, albeit a bit rusty from being away from it for a bit.. but because of the nature of his work, there are things I'm definitely slower at. I'm currently faster at hanging and casing doors than scraping and painting a radiator.. I'm not his "lead guy," yet. I will be, and eventually I will go out on my own, but all things in time.

Been with him 5 months now, and at this point I'm looking for my first pay increase. Which is where the question starts, what's reasonable for someone in long Island, Ny to seek as a day rate considering the following: