Cutting Trim Inside Finished House - Carpentry - Contractor Talk

Cutting Trim Inside Finished House

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-29-2018, 07:27 PM   #1
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


I need to wrap up a little basement suite worth of baseboard tomorrow and the forecast says it'll be a downpour. It's a new townhouse, flooring was just finished so no contents etc. to contend with but I'm still reluctant to set up inside...

I've never actually set my saw up inside a finished house before because im very anal about keeping jobs clean and can usually work around the weather. Now that I have this new Makita LS1019 which apparently has great dust collection I'm seriously debating trying it but hoping I can get a few opinions before I do something I regret. I have an easy up shelter and tarp I can set up out the back of my trailer but it just seems like a hassle for what could be a 3 or 4 hour job.

Thanks!

Last edited by TheConstruct; 09-29-2018 at 07:43 PM.
TheConstruct is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 09-29-2018, 08:42 PM   #2
Pro
 
Caleb1989's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Coastal California
Posts: 135
Rewards Points: 286

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


If itís real wood base and you just have a few cuts and a really good dust extraction, I think you are good to cut inside and vacuum up after. The house probably needs to be cleaned after construction is complete anyway. But if itís MDF and you are coping everything, maybe wait out the storm? What does the builder think?


-Caleb

John 3:16

Advertisement

Caleb1989 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Caleb1989 For This Useful Post:
TheConstruct (09-29-2018)
Old 09-29-2018, 08:56 PM   #3
Hack
 
asevereid's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kamloops, B.C.
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 360

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Go for it... I do it all the time. There will be a mess on, and around your saw.... But the extraction ports do a really good job of minimizing the airborne dust.
Just get a few dirt cheap drop cloths (think... $ Store) and set up a couple of them under your work station... Then you can roll up the mess on the floor, and only have a little bit of sweeping around the drop perimeter.

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
__________________
How to figure your pricing:
http://goo.gl/Il8c2
L+M+O+P/ Pricing, Estimating, And Success
Charging tree fiddy per lineal BOB
asevereid is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to asevereid For This Useful Post:
TheConstruct (09-29-2018)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-29-2018, 09:01 PM   #4
Pro
 
Tom M's Avatar
 
Trade: GC/ Interior & Exterior Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bergen County, NJ
Posts: 9,634
Rewards Points: 3,516

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


I invested in a FastCap saw hood some years back and it comes in real handy. Combine it with an extractor....safe
Tom M is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Tom M For This Useful Post:
TheConstruct (09-29-2018)
Old 09-30-2018, 07:01 PM   #5
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Thanks for the replies. Turns out dust was a non issue. I dont have a dust extractor (yet) but used my large ridgid vac with an adapter to fit the dust port on my saw and my small ridgid to vaccuum up any dust that settled on the saw. Both vacuums had the fine dust filters in them and there was virtually no dust even on the drop cloth at the end of the day. Very impressed with this new setup. I think I'm going to order an iVac switch off amazon so I dont need to turn the vaccum on every time i cut.
TheConstruct is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TheConstruct For This Useful Post:
asevereid (09-30-2018)
Old 09-30-2018, 07:13 PM   #6
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Trim is MDF. Very simple detail, like most spec houses around here these days. Not my favorite but made it an easy job. I just did the doors, trim, hardware.
Attached Thumbnails
Cutting trim inside finished house-20180930_154138-01.jpeg   Cutting trim inside finished house-20180930_154219-01.jpeg  
TheConstruct is offline  
Old 09-30-2018, 09:03 PM   #7
Hack
 
asevereid's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kamloops, B.C.
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 360

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


They've got some of the ivac switches up at KMS. Mine recently failed, so I switched to a DCT switched outlet.. Works just as well. I didn't think it'd be able to handle the miter saw and vacuum, but I haven't tripped a breaker yet.
Try to plug in to a dedicated circuit (in a new home) like the refrigerator or laundry room.

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
__________________
How to figure your pricing:
http://goo.gl/Il8c2
L+M+O+P/ Pricing, Estimating, And Success
Charging tree fiddy per lineal BOB
asevereid is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to asevereid For This Useful Post:
TheConstruct (09-30-2018)
Old 09-30-2018, 09:42 PM   #8
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


I guess I'm going to KMS tomorrow! How long did you have the ivac? Do you think they are prone to failing? Did you get the switched outlet at KMS? How does it work in comparison?
TheConstruct is offline  
Old 09-30-2018, 09:55 PM   #9
Hack
 
asevereid's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Kamloops, B.C.
Posts: 2,703
Rewards Points: 360

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Quote:
Originally Posted by TheConstruct View Post
I guess I'm going to KMS tomorrow! How long did you have the ivac? Do you think they are prone to failing? Did you get the switched outlet at KMS? How does it work in comparison?
I used the ivac for about 7 years... Still not sure what happened to it... Was planning to get it fixed, but it'll probably just sit in a box somewhere, forever.
The DCT works exactly the same... I was only apprehensive about it because I was used to having the dual breaker setup of the ivac switch.
The DCT are right next to the ivac switches, in the back, near Phil's little corner, by the Freud display.

Sent from my SM-G903W using Tapatalk
__________________
How to figure your pricing:
http://goo.gl/Il8c2
L+M+O+P/ Pricing, Estimating, And Success
Charging tree fiddy per lineal BOB
asevereid is offline  
Old 09-30-2018, 10:06 PM   #10
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Oh so you got some pretty good life out of it, that makes me feel better about buying one. I do like the separate plugs on the ivac but like you said hasn't been a problem running both off one breaker. I usually set everything up running off one extension cord and seldom have problems unless the circuit has a bunch of other stuff on it anyways. Garage plugs are usually a safe bet. Thanks for heads up on KMS, didnt even think to have a look there. Hopefully I can make it out of there without buying too much else lol
TheConstruct is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TheConstruct For This Useful Post:
asevereid (09-30-2018)
Old 10-02-2018, 11:50 PM   #11
Pro
 
rblakes1's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 3,130

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


I burned through 2 of the yellow square ivac switches because I didn't pay attention and the rigid vacs and tools drew too much. Those are only rated at 12 amp. One of the outlets melted, and the plugs on my vacuums started to melt as well.

Got an isocket to try, that's rated for 15

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
rblakes1 is offline  
Old 10-03-2018, 12:11 AM   #12
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Interesting, looking at the amperage of the vac and saw now. Vac is rated at 12 amps and saw is rated at 15. Not sure if that is peak draw... not really sure how electricity work honestly lol but I can see how that's an issue. Curious how the isocket will treat you compared to the ivac.
TheConstruct is offline  
Old 10-08-2018, 07:46 PM   #13
Pro
 
rblakes1's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 3,130

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


I don't think I had an issue with the miter saw and vac since those are only short bursts. When I would be ripping on the table saw or using my router, I think that's when the vac plug would get hot and eventually melt

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
rblakes1 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to rblakes1 For This Useful Post:
TheConstruct (10-09-2018)
Old 10-08-2018, 07:47 PM   #14
Pro
 
rblakes1's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 3,130

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


I also think the cord got the vac might be undersized since it gets noticeably warm after extended use

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
rblakes1 is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to rblakes1 For This Useful Post:
TheConstruct (10-09-2018)
Old 01-06-2019, 09:57 PM   #15
Pro
 
rblakes1's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 1,496
Rewards Points: 3,130

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Just to give an update, I killed the isocket faster than the ivac. Benefit I see with the ivac is being able to run it off 2 circuits, isocket can only do 1

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
rblakes1 is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rblakes1 For This Useful Post:
asevereid (01-06-2019), TheConstruct (01-06-2019)
Old 01-06-2019, 11:15 PM   #16
Pro
 
TheConstruct's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpentry
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Kamloops BC
Posts: 521
Rewards Points: 1,012

Re: Cutting Trim Inside Finished House


Damn it

Advertisement

TheConstruct is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finished a nice house! topflite General Discussion 18 12-12-2017 07:16 PM
Inside the tiny house revolution---New Trend tonyc56 Off Topic (Non Trade) 7 12-17-2015 07:56 AM
200 year old house resto/reno blackbear Carpentry Picture Post 38 08-27-2012 09:25 PM
need some wood siding advice Spike7 Windows, Siding and Doors 47 06-28-2012 10:27 PM
Cutting out post holes in finished deck Greg Di Decks & Fencing 64 04-13-2010 11:40 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?