Base For NEW SHED - Carpentry - Contractor Talk

Base For NEW SHED

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-16-2007, 06:49 PM   #1
 
SHORTGUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Base For NEW SHED


I am planning to put up a new shed and would like to put it on Pee Gravel, my question is if I would make the base 6inched deep how many tons would I need to up down for a 12' X 14' shed?

Now I am asking you what would you do, put is on the ground or put it on gravel? I feel that it will last longer and have a much better base under it since it will not have a foundation.

Please gave your PRO and CON'S on this.
SHORTGUN is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 06-16-2007, 06:56 PM   #2
Pro
 
Tom R's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,036

Re: Base For NEW SHED


Your trade is concrete and you need help figuring this out??

OK, - - it's about 1 yard of pea gravel, - - which I believe is about 1 1/2 tons.

Yeah, - - the pea gravel would be better than just on the ground, - - maybe use some set-in pier blocks for a slight elevation . . .

Advertisement

Tom R is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 12:08 AM   #3
Pro
 
BuiltByMAC's Avatar
 
Trade: Deck guy
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,257
Rewards Points: 2,270

Re: Base For NEW SHED


I would dig holes, pack 4" of 3/4"- gravel (not pea gravel) in the holes, set concrete pier blocks on the gravel (or pour your own footings) and set 6x posts on the pier blocks.

Depending on the location of the shed, that might be easier (cheaper?) than transporting multiple tons of pea gravel to the site.

Mac
BuiltByMAC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-17-2007, 01:40 AM   #4
Pro
 
Forry's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor, Remodeler
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Eugene, OR.
Posts: 830
Rewards Points: 526

Re: Base For NEW SHED


Pea gravel is in my opinion a poor choice for that application... It does self compact without packing, but only if surrounded by solid walls, ie a ditch. Otherwise, it flows like water.
Forry is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 04:53 AM   #5
Professional Remodeler
 
firemike's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 2,289
Rewards Points: 1,000

Re: Base For NEW SHED


I agree with Forry, ever walk in pea gravel, just like mushy sand. I would lean more towards crushed limestone if you don't want to put in any type of foundation.

I agree with the others, I would rather keep it off the ground a little for ventilation and less chance of making a home for the critters. We have one shed that was here when we bought the house, it is sitting on the ground and the woodchucks, skunks, and rabbits love it.
__________________
-Mike-
Falcon Contracting
Residential - Commercial
firemike is offline  
Old 06-17-2007, 08:59 AM   #6
 
SHORTGUN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Base For NEW SHED


What do you think of mixing crushed stone with the Pee Gravel?

I have about a ton of Pee Gravel that I would like to use up and would like to have a very good base. I do understand about the crushed stone and agree with you 100 per cent, for that gaves you a base like concreate which is great. Also you can raise it off the ground to keep the groundhog out, right now the old shed is on the ground and yes I have groundhog, along with the shed routing.

Please gave your comments on the mixing of Pee Gravel with Crushed Stone.

Do you feel that a 6" inch base is the right thickness?
SHORTGUN is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 06:00 AM   #7
 
TheFishGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Base For NEW SHED


I would do what I just did, frame a floor and put said floor on 6x6 skids. If you don't lift it up it will eventually deteriorate...
TheFishGuy is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 09:57 PM   #8
 
Canuck Sparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Base For NEW SHED


Quote:
Your trade is concrete and you need help figuring this out??
Canuck Sparky is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 11:13 PM   #9
Thom
 
thom's Avatar
 
Trade: General Contractor/Homebuilder
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Albuquerque NM
Posts: 4,137
Rewards Points: 4,748

Re: Base For NEW SHED


I'd probably use sky hooks, hold it up about 4" above grade so there would be no deterioration to the substructure. In any event, make sure you use a snipe proof latchset.

Advertisement

thom is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
shower base C.C.R. Tiling 16 11-11-2014 01:26 AM
Sub Base for pavers mcgyverdc Landscaping 20 01-14-2007 02:48 PM
Saw to cut Base Board vertical 415moto Tools & Equipment 28 12-18-2006 08:08 PM
vendors for oil base. mdshunk Painting & Finish Work 5 11-11-2006 08:34 PM
Shed..apply for variance or not? jranaudo General Discussion 18 08-11-2006 11:00 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?