Professional Input - HVAC Picture Post - Contractor Talk

Professional Input

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-16-2006, 12:49 AM   #1
 
propertyinspect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Professional Input


I appreciate this forum. This is my first participation, and I have a question. The weather has been really hot in the past two days. I have a "CHOICE" compressor built by "YORK", approximatley 4 years old. FAU is working however, the compressor makes a single click but does not work. I suspect that the High Pressure Switch is off, however, I have not been able to locate the switch. I looked in the electrical panel and even removed the fan but still unable to locate the switch. No loose wires.. assming the problem is caused by the switch. I have tried YORK Web Site for diagram of the unit, but could not find anything. could it be the capacitor or anything else? Any advise
propertyinspect is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 08-20-2006, 06:38 PM   #2
 
tn a/c man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Professional Input


sounds like your compressor is out on thermal overload, or your capacitor is bad.your compressor might be bad

Advertisement

tn a/c man is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 06:42 PM   #3
 
tn a/c man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Professional Input


Quote:
Originally Posted by tn a/c man
sounds like your compressor is out on thermal overload, or your capacitor is bad.your compressor might be bad
thermal overload is a protective device that locks out compressor when it gets hot from being low on freon,dirtycoils ect.if it is a high press switch its either a red button or it resets when you disconnect power to unit.

Last edited by tn a/c man; 08-21-2006 at 05:39 PM.
tn a/c man is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-23-2006, 11:52 AM   #4
 
Tomgeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Professional Input


In my area copacitors are allways going bad, check your MF
Tomgeer is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 11:56 AM   #5
DGR,IABD
 
mdshunk's Avatar
 
Trade: Electrical; Commercial and Residential Service
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central PA
Posts: 9,683
Rewards Points: 2,002

Re: Professional Input


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomgeer View Post
..., check your MF
To translate, that's micro farads. It has nothing to do with your Mom....
mdshunk is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 09:27 AM   #6
 
Tomgeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Professional Input


LOL, that's micro farads. Sorry
Tomgeer is offline  
Old 07-01-2007, 12:19 PM   #7
Controls Guy
 
MechanicalDVR's Avatar
 
Trade: Deplorable Electrician
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: God's Country of Virginia
Posts: 1,036
Rewards Points: 1,189

Re: Professional Input


Are they blood related to your nano farads?
MechanicalDVR is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 11:16 AM   #8
Pro
 
hf05's Avatar
 
Trade: hvac tech
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 142
Rewards Points: 75

Re: Professional Input


Sounds like maybe the single click could be your contactor just pulling in.. maybe capacitor or even breaker or time delays fuses,or maybe sevice call 220 volts remember good luck..
hf05 is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:15 PM   #9
 
briandurussel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25

Re: Professional Input


The thermal overload could be going or is gone.
Your contactor could be pulling in one side or two sides only, if it is triple phase.
You need to make sure all wiring is correct through the contactor, cap, and compressor terminals.
I have heard the same thing happen only to find out that they had to much draw along the run winding. They have to be wired correctly that means finding all problems assoc. with the wiring.
briandurussel is offline  
Old 02-11-2008, 07:21 PM   #10
Curmudgeon
 
neolitic's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry/remodeling/"Yes M'am we do"
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Beech Grove, Indiana, Birthplace of the "King of Cool"
Posts: 11,706
Rewards Points: 2,000

Re: Professional Input


Quote:
Originally Posted by briandurussel View Post
The thermal overload could be going or is gone.
Your contactor could be pulling in one side or two sides only, if it is triple phase.
You need to make sure all wiring is correct through the contactor, cap, and compressor terminals.
I have heard the same thing happen only to find out that they had to much draw along the run winding. They have to be wired correctly that means finding all problems assoc. with the wiring.
You do realize that the problem was in
July, 2006 right?

Personally I wouldn't feel too sorry
for someone who's too hot tonite anyway!
__________________
Put your location in your profile!
(Sorry....it seems there really are dumb questions)

Last edited by neolitic; 02-11-2008 at 07:23 PM.
neolitic is offline  
Old 04-29-2009, 07:07 PM   #11
 
beecoolinc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10

Re: Professional Input


Never mind

Advertisement


Last edited by beecoolinc; 04-29-2009 at 07:09 PM. Reason: DA
beecoolinc is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Guy Needs Input ipaint Painting & Finish Work 9 03-21-2007 09:18 PM
input home voltage problem crunch Electrical 14 12-05-2006 09:54 PM
Looking for a professional estimate format Shawn S Painting & Finish Work 10 01-13-2006 11:12 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?