Help With School Report- Tool Survey - Off Topic (Non Trade) - Contractor Talk

Help With School Report- Tool Survey

Old 11-23-2008, 02:44 PM   #1
Palisade Point Const.

Trade: Remodeling/Finish/Framing/Log
Rewards Points: 1,632

Help With School Report- Tool Survey

Besides being a carpenter, I'm also in school at Montana State University for Mechanical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering Technology. I'm doing a report for my engineering economics class that requires me to compare the potential profit from producing a corded drill as opposed to a cordless drill.

I was hoping that I could get some people here to answer a couple of questions that relate to the potential markets of these two tools. I'll be including my own answers to these questions, but I'm hoping I can get a few more responses to include as well.

Question 1: When buying a cordless drill, considering all things being equal to other drills in it's class, would you consider buying a drill that uses batteries that are not compatible with any other cordless tools?

Question 2: Would you be more likely to consider buying a corded drill or a cordless drill from a company that you have little experience with?

Question 3: Would you consider a cordless drill or a corded drill to experience a rougher life? Why?

Question 4: Are you considering buying a new cordless drill in the next year?

Question 5: Are you considering buying a new corded drill in the next year?

Question 6: Have you had work done on either a cordless drill or a corded drill under warranty? What kinds of problems did you experience?

Thank you for your time, this will be a big help for school.