Questions On Tiled Shower - Remodeling - Contractor Talk

Questions On Tiled Shower

Old 08-30-2007, 08:36 PM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Electrical, Plumbing and Remodeling
Rewards Points: 10

Questions On Tiled Shower

Hey all- new to the forum I am a plumbing/electric/ remodeling contractor, specializing in kitchens and baths. Need some feedback- I'll try to keep a long story short. I got a call couple of weeks ago about a leaking 2nd floor shower. Shower leaked and brought down the living room ceiling. Customer had a "tile contractor" come and look at it- he thought the pan was shot (shower was all tile) he replaced the pan and the first 2 rows of tile. But this didn't fix the problem- shower still leaked. I could see a lot of missing grout on the shower walls and told the homeowner the whole shower had to come out and be redone. I was given the go ahead to proceed. I have done quite a bit of tile work but I've only been doing about 8 years and usually I do tile work as part of an entire remodel. So here's my questions for you guys that have been tiling for awhile.
1. - When I demo'd the shower here is what I found- the original installer stapled metal lath directly to the studs, no plywood plastic or felt paper, They mudded directly over the lath @ 1" thick and tiled on top of that. The mud had the consistency and hardness of chalk I could literally crumble it in my hands. This house is a 800,000$ + house built @30 years ago. So my question is was this installation ever acceptable? I would never do it today but was it common practice at any point?