Labor Only Contract - Remodeling - Contractor Talk

Labor Only Contract

Old 01-28-2014, 10:49 PM   #1

Trade: General Contractor
Rewards Points: 10

Labor Only Contract

Hello I am a General Contractor in California. I have a remodeling project with a investor and I am working with him at a very low margin because the is customer has few more potential leads.

I want to control material prices better and not pay any mark up so I can keep my margin on the job. I have a contractor who is willing to take labor only contract at very reasonable hourly rates. I want to see if I can hire him as a contractor and not employee.

What are the legal and right way to so this. Does he need insurance or can I cover him under my insurance? Does he need to be licensed? Do I need to give him 1099 for this job?

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-28-2014, 10:53 PM   #2
The Sheriff

Trade: Builder
Rewards Points: 15,330

Re: Labor Only Contract

Yeah, he needs insurance and a license.

Don't fall for the "there will be more work later" bs.

Advertisement

John
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Jaws For This Useful Post:
bob hutson (02-17-2014), CarpenterSFO (01-29-2014), charimon (02-06-2014), KermieB (01-30-2014), Live_oak (01-28-2014)
Old 01-28-2014, 11:04 PM   #3
GC/carpenter

Trade: Decking, Railing, Carpenter/General Contractor
Rewards Points: 9,040

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitulkp