Switching To Mac? - Page 2 - Technology - Contractor Talk

Switching To Mac?

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-31-2015, 03:01 PM   #21
Contractor
 
AustinDB's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling & Home Additions
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 4,369
Rewards Points: 1,218

Re: Switching To Mac?


I run VirtualBox and run Win7 inside of that-it's so fast now lol. completely happy w/ a MBP after a 27" Imac. One thing I'll never want to switch away from is a SSD-restarts in under a minute are great.

Next time I would get the 500GB SSD HD, 250Gb is getting tight.

to the OP, run the virtual server on your Mac and you can run all the old Win software that you don't want the Mac version. I chose this route b/c of QB-the Mac version did not feel right and I didn't want the learning curve after using the same billing software for years.
AustinDB is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 02-01-2015, 06:25 PM   #22
Pro
 
SectorSecurity's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Wiring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,048
Rewards Points: 2,828

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by carpenter uk View Post
The best thing to do is run vmware on your mac and stick to the software your used to
If you are going to go the VM route and run windows on a mac just get a windows based PC.

This is like saying I am going to run Linux in a windows VM instead of going to Linux.
SectorSecurity is offline  
Old 02-01-2015, 06:29 PM   #23
Pro
 
SectorSecurity's Avatar
 
Trade: Low Voltage Wiring
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Ontario
Posts: 4,048
Rewards Points: 2,828

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by wallmaxx View Post
Yup

VMware, Parallels, or Virtual Box


I have the student editions of AutoCAD 2015 for both WIN and Mac..........big difference! The WIN version has all the bells and whistles.

So there will be specific applications that will only run on a WIN system.



No joke, this just happened to me last week.

I have several macs in our home and one WIN 7 desktop (for CAD-specific applications like Solidbuilder)

I was working on the WIN box using AutoCAD and at the same time copying files from the WIN box to the storage drives on the network. (Close proximity - everything is cabled) Well, I'm drawing away and BLAM - kernal panic - BLUE SCREEN - unhandled exception. What the hell WINDOWS!!!!!!

I lost about 10 mins of drawing from when I saved last (autosave now set to 2 mins)

I've put my MBP through all kinds of crap and never had that happen (only gray screen issues have been twice over 4 years both at start up.

OP

Try searching mac-centric forums and poke around there. You'll find all kinds of applications that will be useful. Welcome to "the family."
I have seen this happen before, everything would work fine and once I would load a specific application it would BSOD on me. Did you run a memtest on the memory?
SectorSecurity is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-01-2015, 08:09 PM   #24
Pro
 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Trade: Painter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 720
Rewards Points: 572

Re: Switching To Mac?


I think most of us Mac users just have a program or two that we need windows for. I use parallels only for quickbooks contractor version, for example.
DeanV is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 01:49 PM   #25
Member
 
T-Hussy's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeler
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saint Paul, MN
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 134

Re: Switching To Mac?


I like web based software whenever I have the option. No backup required, they save all my info. Also works automatically with all devices. For example, I use quickbooks online, works with my computers and phone, my accountant can access it without me sending monthly reports. Only Microsoft product I use is excel, Mac version, no problems with it.
T-Hussy is offline  
Old 02-02-2015, 03:45 PM   #26
Pro
 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Trade: Painter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 720
Rewards Points: 572

Re: Switching To Mac?


I wish QB online was as good as QB contractor. Online version was not an option for me. Different payroll integration, etc
DeanV is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 08:00 PM   #27
Pro
 
Elyrain's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 404
Rewards Points: 442

Re: Switching To Mac?


Thanks for all the different info.


I just know from experience that when I get a server up and going I DO NOT WANT MICROSOFT PRODUCTS Anywhere within spitting distance of my server. So there is an obvious choice, linux, and and easier albeit more expensive choice, apple.

So my needs are a little different then some of you residential guys.

I'm probably going to go with apple and run boot camp for the windows stuff I have now and slowly transition to mac software as needed.

If anyone has their favorite mac programs they's like to post that would be a huge help also.
__________________
Ca A&B
Elyrain is online now  
Old 02-04-2015, 08:23 PM   #28
LRG WoodCrafting

 
Leo G's Avatar
 
Trade: Maker of Fine Sawdust
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Posts: 40,921
Rewards Points: 15,179

Re: Switching To Mac?


Just love the people who buy a Mac so they can run Microsoft stuff.
__________________
Sawdust Follows Me Everywhere
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
Sanding is the bane of my existence
WWG1WGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HusqyPro View Post
Carpenter by day.
Mad scientist by night.
http://lrgwood.com
Custom Cabinets in Hartford County Connecticut
Leo G is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Leo G For This Useful Post:
BCConstruction (02-04-2015)
Old 02-04-2015, 08:41 PM   #29
Pro
 
BCConstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 2,394

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo G View Post
Just love the people who buy a Mac so they can run Microsoft stuff.

They just wanna be in the "trendy" club lol
__________________
www.bcconstructionllc.com
BCConstruction is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:23 PM   #30
Pro
 
TWhite's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Builder
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Virginia Outer Banks
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 608

Re: Switching To Mac?


Count me in the trendy club!
TWhite is offline  
Old 02-04-2015, 10:55 PM   #31
Pro
 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Trade: Painter
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MI
Posts: 720
Rewards Points: 572

Re: Switching To Mac?


If only intuit was not lagging behind.
DeanV is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 09:58 AM   #32
Pro
 
carpenter uk's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 657

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Leo G View Post
Just love the people who buy a Mac so they can run Microsoft stuff.
mac make the best hardware
but all the best(the ones I use) software is windows
__________________

carpenter uk is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 02:52 PM   #33
Pro
 
BCConstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 2,394

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by carpenter uk View Post
mac make the best hardware

but all the best(the ones I use) software is windows

Hahahahahahahaha here we go again. No Apple far from make the best hardware. In fact they don't make hardly any of the hardware that goes into their systems. They just give them different model numbers so it's hard for you to go online and figure out if the Graphics card, ram, hard drive etc etc option is a good choice as there's no way to compare.

Their hardware is no different than what Samsung, toshiba, Sony etc etc have in them.

If you want the best hardware it's gonna cost way more than the hardware in Apples systems.
__________________
www.bcconstructionllc.com
BCConstruction is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 04:06 PM   #34
Pro
 
TWhite's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Builder
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Virginia Outer Banks
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 608

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by BCConstruction View Post
Hahahahahahahaha here we go again. No Apple far from make the best hardware. In fact they don't make hardly any of the hardware that goes into their systems. They just give them different model numbers so it's hard for you to go online and figure out if the Graphics card, ram, hard drive etc etc option is a good choice as there's no way to compare.

Their hardware is no different than what Samsung, toshiba, Sony etc etc have in them.

If you want the best hardware it's gonna cost way more than the hardware in Apples systems.
Lol! Here we go again, Zzzzzzzzz
TWhite is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TWhite For This Useful Post:
BCConstruction (02-05-2015)
Old 02-05-2015, 06:09 PM   #35
Pro
 
BCConstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 2,394

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TWhite View Post
Lol! Here we go again, Zzzzzzzzz

I know right. You fanboyz keep throwing these myths around but Barri the myth buster is here to myth bust.
__________________
www.bcconstructionllc.com
BCConstruction is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 06:14 PM   #36
Pro
 
carpenter uk's Avatar
 
Trade: carpentry
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 657

Re: Switching To Mac?


It's no myth that my mac book has run flawlessly for 2 years when every pc I've owned has never gone more than a couple of months without problems.
I'm happy with my setup
__________________

carpenter uk is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 06:33 PM   #37
Pro
 
BCConstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 2,394

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by carpenter uk View Post
It's no myth that my mac book has run flawlessly for 2 years when every pc I've owned has never gone more than a couple of months without problems.
I'm happy with my setup

my Alienware laptop I bought 7+ years ago is still running.

The PC I built 10 years ago is still running. The one I built 6 years ago is still running. The Alienware desktop I bought 14 years ago is still running and the PC I built year before last is still running.

You can get the same exact parts that are inside your Mac in any other brand. They are all made by the same people. The stuff I build mine with is way better quality and higher spec than anything Apple has on the market for half the cost.

To many people buy a cheap ass PC then wonder why it can't run the latest OS and BSOD's every half hr.

Then they go out and buy a Mac 3x the cost and are some how amazed it runs better.

Kind of like buying a Ford Focus then buying a BMW m3 then being surprised the BMW is faster and better quality.

But let's not forget I own more Apple stuff than most on here but I'm not brain washed by the myths they spout.
__________________
www.bcconstructionllc.com
BCConstruction is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 07:29 PM   #38
LRG WoodCrafting

 
Leo G's Avatar
 
Trade: Maker of Fine Sawdust
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Posts: 40,921
Rewards Points: 15,179

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by carpenter uk View Post
It's no myth that my mac book has run flawlessly for 2 years when every pc I've owned has never gone more than a couple of months without problems.
I'm happy with my setup
My Dell Inspiron Laptop is 7 years old and I had to replace the hard drive at about 5 years. Got a couple of lines in the screen. But it still works perfect.
__________________
Sawdust Follows Me Everywhere
I can explain it to you, but I can't understand it for you.
Sanding is the bane of my existence
WWG1WGA

Quote:
Originally Posted by HusqyPro View Post
Carpenter by day.
Mad scientist by night.
http://lrgwood.com
Custom Cabinets in Hartford County Connecticut
Leo G is online now  
Old 02-05-2015, 08:03 PM   #39
Pro
 
TWhite's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom Builder
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Virginia Outer Banks
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 608

Re: Switching To Mac?


Barri are you starting to believe your own spiel? If you price a spec to spec computer the Mac will be within a few % and that's not counting that the Mac is in a really nice enclosure, or that OSX is almost bulletproof.
TWhite is offline  
Old 02-05-2015, 08:38 PM   #40
Pro
 
BCConstruction's Avatar
 
Trade: Construction
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Roanoke, VA
Posts: 16,392
Rewards Points: 2,394

Re: Switching To Mac?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TWhite View Post
Barri are you starting to believe your own spiel? If you price a spec to spec computer the Mac will be within a few % and that's not counting that the Mac is in a really nice enclosure, or that OSX is almost bulletproof.

Im not the one making up stuff. It's you fanboys who are in dream Apple land who need to wake up.

Go ahead though show me the proof of Apple hardware having better quality components. No one upto yet has been able to but if you like I can show you proof they are not like I do on every Apple myth post.

Windows is almost bullet proof so what's your point. The only BSOD I have had since I built this PC was because of an Apple router. My PC stays on 24/7 doing stuff constantly yet never one crash or lock up. Damn I can even go on vacation and if power goes of my PC will turn its self back so I can still use Remote Desktop it's that reliable.

But keep spreading the myths. Gets my post count back up for toys for tots lol

Advertisement

__________________
www.bcconstructionllc.com
BCConstruction is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching from dumpsters to dump trailer ??? Walter Secore General Discussion 53 04-21-2014 08:01 PM
4 way switching Help needed Clarkson Electrical 4 10-08-2012 09:20 AM
A/B switching question... JumboJack Electrical 2 06-28-2010 12:40 AM
Switching wiskers Electrical 12 06-03-2010 12:11 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?