How To Respond To A Negative Online Review - Technology - Contractor Talk

How To Respond To A Negative Online Review

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2014, 12:49 PM   #1
Pro
 
CQC's Avatar
 
Trade: Residential Remodeler/General Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 177

How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Your number one way to handle a negative online review is to have many favorable ones. Many prospective customers will look past that single negative review if you have mostly favorable reviews from other happy customers. It is up to the business to ensure they deliver top service and encourage their ‘happy’ customers to share their happy experiences by writing favorable reviews.

Read more at https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/artic...-online-review
__________________
Award winning residential general contractor (additions, remodeling, repair) serving the Triangle (Raleigh, Durham, Chapel Hill. Learn more at www.cqchome.com
CQC is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 10-16-2014, 12:59 PM   #2
Ralph Rivera
 
rrivera's Avatar
 
Trade: Insurance
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 40

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Saw this last week, one of the best responses to a negative review I have ever seen: http://imgur.com/gallery/8CNYL

Advertisement

__________________
Ralph Rivera
http://contractorsinsurancecalifornia.com
rrivera is offline  
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to rrivera For This Useful Post:
Anti-wingnut (10-16-2014), George Z (10-30-2014), Jeremiah2911 (10-25-2014), WBailey1041 (10-16-2014)
Old 10-16-2014, 02:15 PM   #3
Pro
 
Anti-wingnut's Avatar
 
Trade: Commercial Superintendent
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2,939
Rewards Points: 3,428

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Nice link Ralph. The owner of the restaurant did a good job of explaining things, not getting involved in a back and forth, and painting the Yelping complainers as entitled babies
Anti-wingnut is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-16-2014, 02:42 PM   #4
Ralph Rivera
 
rrivera's Avatar
 
Trade: Insurance
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 19
Rewards Points: 40

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Yeah, unfortunately a lot of people using Yelp use it as leverage to try to get whatever they want.

"If you don't do this I will post a 1 star review of you on Yelp!"

Couple of our clients have had this happen to them, more recently in the last 1-2 years. It's like the new age BBB!
__________________
Ralph Rivera
http://contractorsinsurancecalifornia.com
rrivera is offline  
Old 10-25-2014, 02:05 PM   #5
Pro
 
Jeremiah2911's Avatar
 
Trade: .
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 324

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


That response was absolutely brilliant! Yelp is truly a double-edged sword.
Jeremiah2911 is offline  
Old 10-25-2014, 02:09 PM   #6
Pro
 
Jeremiah2911's Avatar
 
Trade: .
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 324

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrivera View Post
Yeah, unfortunately a lot of people using Yelp use it as leverage to try to get whatever they want.

"If you don't do this I will post a 1 star review of you on Yelp!"

Couple of our clients have had this happen to them, more recently in the last 1-2 years. It's like the new age BBB!
I wish there were a reviewing service for customers.
Jeremiah2911 is offline  
Old 10-25-2014, 02:18 PM   #7
90%-er
 
onmywayup's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Southeast Michigan
Posts: 1,141
Rewards Points: 2,286

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremiah2911 View Post
I wish there were a reviewing service for customers.
My brother (another contractor and a website guy) often talks about putting up a site like that.

Not so much as a way to get revenge, just as a way to warn other contractors that you customer is bat-**** crazy and to stay away.

I get one to three customers every year that I wish I had been warned about.
onmywayup is online now  
Old 10-25-2014, 03:20 PM   #8
Pro
 
Jeremiah2911's Avatar
 
Trade: .
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 324

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by onmywayup View Post
My brother (another contractor and a website guy) often talks about putting up a site like that.

Not so much as a way to get revenge, just as a way to warn other contractors that you customer is bat-**** crazy and to stay away.

I get one to three customers every year that I wish I had been warned about.
We all need to invest in a site like that! I'd love to avoid the tire kickers and the overly-needy (and by needy I mean clingy).
Jeremiah2911 is offline  
Old 10-25-2014, 03:32 PM   #9
I own stock in FotoMat!
 
480sparky's Avatar
 
Trade: 132 on Bush, I've got him at gunpoint!
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Iowa
Posts: 12,194
Rewards Points: 12,456

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremiah2911 View Post
We all need to invest in a site like that! I'd love to avoid the tire kickers and the overly-needy (and by needy I mean clingy).
__________________
This post has been modified from its original version. It has been formatted to fit this screen and edited for content.
480sparky is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to 480sparky For This Useful Post:
slowsol (10-27-2014)
Old 10-25-2014, 03:47 PM   #10
Wormdrive Operator
 
heavy_d's Avatar
 
Trade: Contractor
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham Region, Ontario
Posts: 3,318
Rewards Points: 6,888

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Loved the bit about the tax lawyer. Funny read, thanks!
heavy_d is offline  
Old 10-27-2014, 08:36 AM   #11
Pro
 
Jeremiah2911's Avatar
 
Trade: .
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 324

Re: How To Respond To A Negative Online Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
Thanks for your contribution

Advertisement

Jeremiah2911 is offline  



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Website review if you have the time TLHWindows Websites and SEO 35 09-16-2013 12:48 PM
Hoping to Fix Bad Online Reviews? Not So Fast carolinahandyma Marketing & Sales 16 06-04-2013 01:08 PM
Deck Construction @ Winery: Review Our Plans? dutchswan General Discussion 14 05-23-2013 12:14 PM
Debt Collecting Review bcplastering Off Topic (Non Trade) 0 02-16-2013 02:42 PM
Website Review Input tonyc56 Websites and SEO 12 01-02-2013 05:26 AM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?