4k Monitor For Plan Review - Page 2 - Technology - Contractor Talk

4k Monitor For Plan Review

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-26-2019, 08:31 PM   #21
John the Builder
 
SmallTownGuy's Avatar
 
Trade: Carpenter/Builder Professional Painter
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 16,440
Rewards Points: 4,026

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


I just figured out I could plug the laptops into this here big old Samsung TV/Monitor via HDMI. So: Finally found a use for the thing.

Big is good !
__________________
All my Life loving Hippie friends turned into soul-sucking Conservatives - or died. Same difference.
"Mornin' ladies, my goodness don't you look happy. Must be cuttin' somebody up pretty good." - Andy Griffiths
SmallTownGuy is online now  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 04-27-2019, 01:01 PM   #22
Talking Head
 
EthanB's Avatar
 
Trade: Poking Things With Sticks
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,325
Rewards Points: 308

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


I'm super late on this one but my setup is a 24" monitor and I print whatever pages I need at 11x17 in house and use the monitor for zooming in on details. My notes end up on the paper. I occasionally print out some pages full size(we have 2 plotters) but for the most part I prefer the 11x17. It's also much easier to have 2 different views at one time when looking for detail/section references.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Planer.....
EthanB is offline  
Old 04-27-2019, 03:24 PM   #23
The Sheriff

 
Jaws's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 23,678
Rewards Points: 6,012

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by EthanB View Post
I'm super late on this one but my setup is a 24" monitor and I print whatever pages I need at 11x17 in house and use the monitor for zooming in on details. My notes end up on the paper. I occasionally print out some pages full size(we have 2 plotters) but for the most part I prefer the 11x17. It's also much easier to have 2 different views at one time when looking for detail/section references.
Having a plan printer is nice isn't it? I have not regretted my purchase.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
__________________
"The sound of the saftey clicking off is the only warning your gonna get......., so cover your ears" Northeast Wyoming 2016

John
Jaws is online now  
The Following User Says Thank You to Jaws For This Useful Post:
EthanB (04-27-2019)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-27-2019, 05:00 PM   #24
Talking Head
 
EthanB's Avatar
 
Trade: Poking Things With Sticks
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,325
Rewards Points: 308

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Having a plan printer is nice isn't it? I have not regretted my purchase.

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
It is but I really do only print a full size once a month or so. For me, moving faster through the plans is the biggest issue and a 30 page stack of 11x17 is the way to go. I probably review 1-200 sets of commercial plans a month though so that's a different issue.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Planer.....
EthanB is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to EthanB For This Useful Post:
Jaws (04-27-2019)
Old 04-27-2019, 05:30 PM   #25
The Sheriff

 
Jaws's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 23,678
Rewards Points: 6,012

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by EthanB View Post
It is but I really do only print a full size once a month or so. For me, moving faster through the plans is the biggest issue and a 30 page stack of 11x17 is the way to go. I probably review 1-200 sets of commercial plans a month though so that's a different issue.
That's a lot of plans. Lol

I probably print 30 sets a year, build 10. I still use highlighters lol

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
__________________
"The sound of the saftey clicking off is the only warning your gonna get......., so cover your ears" Northeast Wyoming 2016

John
Jaws is online now  
Old 04-27-2019, 05:37 PM   #26
Remodeling GC
 
kevjob's Avatar
 
Trade: Remodeling General Contractor
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 2,712
Rewards Points: 2,156

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Just went back to wide format printer. love it for submitting plans to building department.

Had one a while back got a smaller one when that broke, back to wide format and staying with them, 11x17 plans give a ton of detail and are easy to show existing/proposed baths etc.. on same page.
kevjob is online now  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kevjob For This Useful Post:
Calidecks (04-27-2019), Jaws (04-27-2019)
Old 04-27-2019, 05:42 PM   #27
The Sheriff

 
Jaws's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 23,678
Rewards Points: 6,012

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


I never use 11x17 except for small remodels. Never hardly

Sent from my SM-N920V using Tapatalk
__________________
"The sound of the saftey clicking off is the only warning your gonna get......., so cover your ears" Northeast Wyoming 2016

John
Jaws is online now  
Old 04-27-2019, 07:03 PM   #28
Pro
 
Elyrain's Avatar
 
Trade: GC
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oceanside, Ca
Posts: 404
Rewards Points: 442

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Just my .02, I use two monitors, a 21 for excel or whatever and 27 for the pdfs. Seems to work for me. I do use 11x17 paper also, but mostly only when Im meeting a client. I print them out in fine or best quality so we can read the notes.


Just a note, spend a few dollars and get adobe so that you can make pdfs searchable, that way you can search for the dumb**** notes saying contractor to verify or verify in field or whatever, I actually have a list of crap I search for so there are no surprises. I do the same with the specs for public works projects.
__________________
Ca A&B
Elyrain is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to Elyrain For This Useful Post:
Jaws (04-27-2019)
Old 04-27-2019, 07:39 PM   #29
Talking Head
 
EthanB's Avatar
 
Trade: Poking Things With Sticks
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,325
Rewards Points: 308

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Foxit reader has a free version and allows you to search pdfs and has a decent distance tool. I have adobe but I actually use Foxit more unless it's a really large file size which adobe handles better.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Planer.....
EthanB is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to EthanB For This Useful Post:
SmallTownGuy (04-28-2019)
Old 04-27-2019, 10:34 PM   #30
edward trowelhands
 
Golden view's Avatar
 
Trade: Diplomat
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PDX
Posts: 4,581
Rewards Points: 6,416

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevjob View Post
Just went back to wide format printer. love it for submitting plans to building department.

Had one a while back got a smaller one when that broke, back to wide format and staying with them, 11x17 plans give a ton of detail and are easy to show existing/proposed baths etc.. on same page.
Mine are 95% 24x36 plans. So no affordable home printing option I know of. Hence my starting this thread about 4K monitors. 11x17 is plenty legible on a FHD monitor.
__________________
You make something idiot proof and the world invents a better idiot.
Golden view is online now  
Old 07-19-2019, 07:49 AM   #31
Member
 
theotherone's Avatar
 
Trade: Plumbing
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 73
Rewards Points: 160

Re: 4k Monitor For Plan Review


Quote:
Originally Posted by Golden view View Post
A year later, finally got a 32" 4k monitor for $380. This one: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16824011158

Easy on they eyes and just right for viewing a whole sheet and being able to read the small text.

In short, it's awesome and does exactly what I want to do. As good as paper as far as I'm concerned for estimating and plan review. Always print sets for on site, final review, etc, but early in the process this works great.
Great to hear you finally made your decision brother. 4K monitors have become very cheap these days and you can read it also here. That makes them great for every day and professional purpose except for gaming. I hope you have a great time with your new monitor

Advertisement

theotherone is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Website review if you have the time TLHWindows Websites and SEO 35 09-16-2013 12:48 PM
Deck Construction @ Winery: Review Our Plans? dutchswan General Discussion 14 05-23-2013 12:14 PM
Website Review Input tonyc56 Websites and SEO 12 01-02-2013 05:26 AM
Agreement Not to Review EcoStar Remodel General Discussion 10 06-04-2011 05:06 PM

Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?