Unsure How To Approach A "Consultant" Job For Customer - Business - Contractor Talk

Unsure How To Approach A "Consultant" Job For Customer

Old 06-09-2014, 10:07 PM   #1
New Guy

Trade: Remodeling
Rewards Points: 18

Unsure How To Approach A "Consultant" Job For Customer

Here's the situation:
I'm a GC and my neighbor, an architect, said he had a client who liked the way I designed the hardscaping/landscaping on my house and would like me to do something similar for her home currently under construction. Also to design and install an exterior drainage and gutter system. I'm not a landscape designer but I said I would provide an estimate for hardscaping and could refer a landscaper I've worked with before to estimate the plantings and finish work if so desired.
The owner called and I agreed to meet at the job site to discuss exactly what she wanted.
I couldn't believe what I saw on my arrival. In the front yard and driveway were piles, literally piles, of construction trash; broken concrete; bricks; rusty railings, ductwork and pieces of structural steel; hacks of warped sheets of plywood and chunks of crumbling durock; twisted piles of dimensional lumber; at least 50 partially full or full 5 gallon buckets of hardened paint, joint compound, roofing tar; 8 complete pallets of unprotected and now solidified bags of concrete, stucco and mortar mix; rotting food, maggot filled containers, plastic wrappers and drink bottles tossed in the yard; thousands of drywall screws, collated nail gun nails, self tapping sheet metal screws and flat roofing nails whose cardboard boxes had disintegrated in the rain leaving them in rusting heaps or strewn about embedded in the grass, dirt, bushes all over the property.