Starting Up - Business - Contractor Talk

Starting Up

Old 01-17-2013, 01:11 AM   #1

Trade: Student/handyman
Rewards Points: 75
Talking

Starting Up

So Ime almost done with high school were I am attending a vocational program for carpentry. I am sure some will laugh when i say i am intrested in starting a business offering basic handyman services an light remodeling for now. I plan on eventually going bigger but i gotta start small.I have all the tools truck n trailer to start as I have been doing side jobs for two years. I got the skills to do basic services. When it comes to light remodels I got people in the family who can help who are more experienced and licensed.

I guess what I am looking for any tips an advice and just any good sources for information would be greatly appreciated. What do you guys think, how did you get started?

Thanks for your time.

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 01-17-2013, 02:09 AM   #2
stacker of sticks

Trade: home remodeling, new construction
Rewards Points: 590

Re: Starting Up

As far as advice get good insurance. And how I got started. I pretty much did the same as you started small, made friends with well known contractors that could give me the small jobs they didnt want and hire me when I didn't have work. Get you're name out, and advertise. Then when I was in college me and a few buddies framed a house for homes for humanity, all volunteer work just for fun after class. That led us to two more framing jobs, and a pole barn.

Advertisement

The Following User Says Thank You to jlsconstruction For This Useful Post:
18withtools (01-17-2013)
Old 01-17-2013, 08:41 AM   #3