Starting A Contracting Business. - Business - Contractor Talk

Starting A Contracting Business.

Old 07-11-2009, 01:05 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Starting A Contracting Business.

I have 15 years of personal handyman experience from plumbing to electrical and drywall, working around the house and building my own basement doing everything possible from framing to wiring. I also have taken some business courses in college. I also have a tidy sum of savings to invest in my business.

I thought Id focus on interior, framing and drywall and get my feet wet with that. I even have tools from years of working on my own that I could use.

I think I have all the basics in place but two questions remain.

1. How and were do i get contracts from, specifically how can I sub-contract for general contractors with large contracts.

2. Can I hire employees on an hourly basis rather than having them as permanent employees? So I can call them when I need them.

Thanks guys

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Advertisement

Old 07-11-2009, 01:31 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 500

Re: Starting A Contracting Business.

This is a good read about a guy that started a niche contracting business. A 1 ton dump, a ultra mini-excavator, and a trailer and he's reporting around $125/hour and staying busy.

http://www.heavyequipmentforums.com/...read.php?t=987

Advertisement

Old 07-11-2009, 06:18 AM   #3
Painting Contractor

Trade: Painting Contractor
Rewards Points: 1,138

ignore this post
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2009, 03:28 PM   #4

does anybody have some words of wisdom on finding contracts and work. thanks
Old 07-11-2009, 03:32 PM   #5
Pro