Right Move To Hire A Project Manager? - Business - Contractor Talk

Right Move To Hire A Project Manager?

Old 09-07-2007, 07:58 PM   #1
Pro

Trade: Outdoor D/B
Rewards Points: 1,028

Right Move To Hire A Project Manager?

Here is the deal. The last two years have been a learning process. Business has grew in leaps and bounds. I have now moved out of the new business phase and have moved into growing a business phase. I figure out how to price jobs. Everything seemed to always take twice as long as i figure, so i doubled my pricing. I now have a million dollar profolio and some great references, so i am able to get the prices i am asking. It was hard to get what i was worth when i was selling work i have never done before. Am i expensive now? I do not think so. Its all realivent to the quality of work i am selling.

Its the first week of september and it looks like i have 4 major project that people want done first thing in the spring. All referals/previous customers. I will be using a mix of subs and employees. More work will defiently come in between now and March 1st when we start working.

I been talking to a guy the last month about possible coming on as a project manager for me. Basically he would handle the day to day managing of the jobs. He would pick up odds and ends, manage subs, make sure material gets to where it needs to go. Basicly it would free up an enormous amount of time for me. The guy wants in the neighborhood of 20 bucks a hour WITH bennies. He ran his own business for years but just could not cut it. Seems to be one of those guys who can do the work, but not run a business.

Does this seem like a smart move? I do not think i will ever be able to grow my business to anything substantial if i keep dealing with the day to day bs. I do not see how i can afford not to hire a person for this position. I am estimating sales next year of 1.6 mil.

What point did you guys start hiring managers?

Matt