New Contractor Looking For Info - Business - Contractor Talk

New Contractor Looking For Info

Old 05-11-2015, 12:29 PM   #1

Trade: Windows and Doors
Rewards Points: 2

New Contractor Looking For Info

Hello

This is my first post on the CT forums. Iíve been reading posts for months and itís been an amazing resource.

I thought Iíd tell you a little bit about myself and my plan to get started.

I currently work as an analyst in the IT industry and would really like to make a change. Iím not a carpenter but I have completely renovated my own home (framing, windows, doors, trim etc.). Iíve also dealt with a number of contractors.

High level overview of my plan:

Iíd like to start a small residential window and door replacement company with a focus on customer service and offering high quality products and workmanship at a reasonable cost. My plan is to purchase a cube van and tools and spend almost all of my time on the marketing and business side. Iíd market aggressively market with radio ads, vehicle graphics, door knockers, website and SEO and any other venue that I have time to explore. I would also handle all aspects of the business from sales to operations and coordination but I would have installers doing the work (casual employees or subs?). I envision having the truck stocked with all materials/tools and on-site ready for my crew to handle the installation.

The niche I see is between the small craigslist guys that offer cheap rates and the large companies that have high overhead and are significantly more expensive.

I am aware it will take time to build business and close sales so I donít plan on full time employees out of the gate but rather piecework employees or subcontractors. This is actually an area Iíd like insight into.

Below are some questions that I have:

Should I use casual employees or subs? What are the benefits or downsides of either?
Any workers comp/insurance implications on whether I use casual employees or subs?