The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews - Page 2 - Business - Contractor Talk

The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-18-2012, 08:06 AM   #21
Member
 
workingintx's Avatar
 
Trade: Door & Entryway Refinishing
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Quote:
One thousand customers in one year is around 3 a day. That is a lot. If only 3 of them were unhappy then you should have plenty good reviews.
Re-read what I said. We do a follow up survey after every job to get feedback and to also elicit quotes. The problem we have is that none of our customers actually go online to post reviews accept the very upset ones (which again we try to rectify as best as possible). We even added a statement to the survye which is "Thank you for your time and if you have a moment please leave your review online at one of the many sites such as angielist, yelp, etc." We always get "Yeah no problem I'll do that for you guys" or something similar. It doesn't matter that we post both our positive and negative reviews on our own facebook and website, it's the "official" online sites that we can't seem to get anyone to log into and post on.
workingintx is offline  

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. ContractorTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

   

Advertisement

 

Old 12-18-2012, 08:08 AM   #22
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Offer $50 off invoice. Thats more than most people make in an hour so they will be more inclined to comply when being paid.

Last edited by ohiohomedoctor; 12-18-2012 at 08:18 AM.
ohiohomedoctor is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 08:58 AM   #23
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


I imagine that after being paid to do so a minute measure of guilt would occur if one isn't written.

I have found that even the ones who are incentivized often still do not follow through and actually write the review.

I feel that complicated sign up and on procedures and agenda ridden hoops that clients must withstand own a large portion of the blame in that matter. The truth is that some people simply do not have the ability or gumption to figure out how to open a gmail account and sign up for Google+ and then find your company and decifer how to compose a review.

Google constantly wants to improve and their Google+ is currently far behind facebook and their social prowess which probably agitates the Google marketing monopoly. In an effort to gain users they have instated policies which require its users to sign up for and in many cases maintain an active Google+ account. This has without doubt detoured countless thousands if not millions of reviews entering the system resulting in the situation at hand of the great mystry why nobody seems to actually write reviews.

Their intent is to improve the validity of the review process by putting a name and a face to as many reviews as possible. This IS a very good thing for business owners because one review from a public profile often holds more weight with potential clients in that decision point shopping phase than 5 unanomous ones from GregG(ex) with no follow links.

However the fact is that most people just dont have the time for fb, twitter, picasa, pinterest, ect., and now Google+ and until Google+ lets you sign in with your facebook account or attracts more users to its already beautiful and well designed platform gaining large numbers of positive reviews is going to be an uphill battle that needs to be fought if some small businesses want to survive.

So the million dollar question. Ok, what would you do about it to improve it?

If I was appointed czar of Google profit I would today begin work on allowing my social software to integrate fb instead of competing with it. Instead of blindly barreling down a path of competition I would absorb millions if not billions of users by simply allowing users to be signed into and post on Google+ through being signed into fb which most people never really sign out of.

There are countless apps and apllications that share posts across several social platforms and nobody could ever do that market better than Google. By offering a better platform and operating system which they already have to users and allowing them to maintain status qou with all their friends and connections they could instantly change the game for the future of the Google based social model.
Instantly the review process would gain massive amounts of credibilty and the Google marketing machine could do what fb never has been able to master, truly profit from what they have.

Your Welcome, now please give me my reviews back..

Last edited by ohiohomedoctor; 12-18-2012 at 09:02 AM.
ohiohomedoctor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-18-2012, 09:27 AM   #24
Talking Head
 
EthanB's Avatar
 
Trade: Poking Things With Sticks
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,319
Rewards Points: 296

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by workingintx View Post
Re-read what I said. We do a follow up survey after every job to get feedback and to also elicit quotes. The problem we have is that none of our customers actually go online to post reviews accept the very upset ones (which again we try to rectify as best as possible). We even added a statement to the survye which is "Thank you for your time and if you have a moment please leave your review online at one of the many sites such as angielist, yelp, etc." We always get "Yeah no problem I'll do that for you guys" or something similar. It doesn't matter that we post both our positive and negative reviews on our own facebook and website, it's the "official" online sites that we can't seem to get anyone to log into and post on.
A couple thoughts on your particular situation:
-You are performing a quick service so people might be less invested in the experience than they would be with a company that they were involved with for weeks(remodel) or on a regular basis(hair stylist, auto mechanic).
-If you are already doing a survey, people might be a bit overwhelmed with the feedback process. Consider doing a trial where you just send them a instruction card for a few review sites and a big "Let us know how we did!" call to action message. Remember to grow it slowly, a huge increase in the frequency of reviews will probably get some of them tagged as spam.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiohomedoctor View Post
Offer $50 off invoice. Thats more than most people make in an hour so they will be more inclined to comply when being paid.
This is a no-no for Google and a HUGE no-no for Yelp. Some other sites don't care. You need to be familiar with the TOS for the sites you intend to focus on.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Planer.....
EthanB is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 12:53 PM   #25
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


And to be clear I have never paid any client to attain a review but was merely suggesting a possible solution. Thanks for pointing out the Google tos guidlines Ethan.
ohiohomedoctor is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ohiohomedoctor For This Useful Post:
EthanB (12-18-2012)
Old 12-18-2012, 02:48 PM   #26
Non-conformist
 
cbscreative's Avatar
 
Trade: Builder of businesses
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,581
Rewards Points: 1,224

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by bauler View Post
I bet the majority of your customers don't look you up anyway.
I wouldn't be so sure about that. With something as important as deciding on which contractor to hire (or even call), a certain amount of research is a wise precaution.

However, I totally agree not to sweat it. As a HO, I'm well aware that any contractor can get some bozo who will leave a bad review. The existence of a bad review is not cause for concern, especially if you as the business owner respond to tell your side of the story in a professional manner. I personally find reviews very helpful whether it's for home improvement or a small purchase of a tech device. Seeing bad reviews has not stopped me from making a purchase, but if you only have bad reviews, that could be a problem.

Personally, I think the negative slant of this thread is out of balance and places too much emphasis on a problem you shouldn't have to worry too much about. If you expect the world to be unkind, you tend to get a disproportionate dose of unkindness (there's plenty enough without expecting the worst). If you sow good, not all of your efforts will be punished. There are plenty of people who aren't out to get you, and the ones who are should never be allowed to consume your energy.

As for how to get good reviews, I think asking for G+ won't yield too many results because there are a lot of hoops. You have to find something that works for your business and the relationship you have with your customers. Somewhere in that interaction, there are ways to exceed their expectations. Keep doing that and reviews should be of little or no concern.
__________________
Steve Chittenden
cbscreative is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 03:06 PM   #27
Deck Parts Retailer
 
killerdecks's Avatar
 
Trade: deck builder
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wayne Mi
Posts: 3,108
Rewards Points: 888

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


I still want names, addresses, phone #'s, jock size, blood type, pictures of the family etc. The sheet would stop if there was accountabililty.
It real easy to run your mouth or fingertips on a key board, face to face is a different matter.

Last edited by killerdecks; 12-18-2012 at 03:08 PM.
killerdecks is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 05:04 PM   #28
Talking Head
 
EthanB's Avatar
 
Trade: Poking Things With Sticks
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 5,319
Rewards Points: 296

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


I think allowing anonymous reviews should be limited by requesting unpublished contact info is the way to go. I understand that people don't want to have to have a "face to face" type confrontation every time they honestly explain a bad experience. At the same time, the business needs some recourse which is impossible in a truly anonymous post.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaws View Post
Planer.....
EthanB is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to EthanB For This Useful Post:
killerdecks (12-18-2012)
Old 12-18-2012, 09:31 PM   #29
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Ethan, Anbody ever tell you that you look similar to Allen from Two and a Half Men?
ohiohomedoctor is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 09:40 PM   #30
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


But you're much smarter
ohiohomedoctor is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 09:42 PM   #31
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Quote:
Originally Posted by ohiohomedoctor View Post
I imagine that after being paid to do so a minute measure of guilt would occur if one isn't written.

I have found that even the ones who are incentivized often still do not follow through and actually write the review.

I feel that complicated sign up and on procedures and agenda ridden hoops that clients must withstand own a large portion of the blame in that matter. The truth is that some people simply do not have the ability or gumption to figure out how to open a gmail account and sign up for Google+ and then find your company and decifer how to compose a review.

Google constantly wants to improve and their Google+ is currently far behind facebook and their social prowess which probably agitates the Google marketing monopoly. In an effort to gain users they have instated policies which require its users to sign up for and in many cases maintain an active Google+ account. This has without doubt detoured countless thousands if not millions of reviews entering the system resulting in the situation at hand of the great mystry why nobody seems to actually write reviews.

Their intent is to improve the validity of the review process by putting a name and a face to as many reviews as possible. This IS a very good thing for business owners because one review from a public profile often holds more weight with potential clients in that decision point shopping phase than 5 unanomous ones from GregG(ex) with no follow links.

However the fact is that most people just dont have the time for fb, twitter, picasa, pinterest, ect., and now Google+ and until Google+ lets you sign in with your facebook account or attracts more users to its already beautiful and well designed platform gaining large numbers of positive reviews is going to be an uphill battle that needs to be fought if some small businesses want to survive.

So the million dollar question. Ok, what would you do about it to improve it?

If I was appointed czar of Google profit I would today begin work on allowing my social software to integrate fb instead of competing with it. Instead of blindly barreling down a path of competition I would absorb millions if not billions of users by simply allowing users to be signed into and post on Google+ through being signed into fb which most people never really sign out of.

There are countless apps and apllications that share posts across several social platforms and nobody could ever do that market better than Google. By offering a better platform and operating system which they already have to users and allowing them to maintain status qou with all their friends and connections they could instantly change the game for the future of the Google based social model.
Instantly the review process would gain massive amounts of credibilty and the Google marketing machine could do what fb never has been able to master, truly profit from what they have.




Your Welcome, now please give me my reviews back..
Great post! You deserve your reviews back..
ohiohomedoctor is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to ohiohomedoctor For This Useful Post:
skcolo (12-18-2012)
Old 12-18-2012, 09:44 PM   #32
Holder of hands
 
skcolo's Avatar
 
Trade: Custom builder/remodeler
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Denver, CO.
Posts: 680
Rewards Points: 500

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


OK Matt, I gave your reviews back.
skcolo is offline  
Old 12-18-2012, 10:28 PM   #33
Every now and then poster
 
ohiohomedoctor's Avatar
 
Trade: Home Remodeling Professional
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 13,436
Rewards Points: 3,544

Re: The Menace Of On Line Grades And Reviews


Thanks

Advertisement

ohiohomedoctor is offline  


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join Now... It's Fast and FREE!

I am a professional contractor
I am a DIY Homeowner
Drywall Talk is for
PROFESSIONAL CONTRACTORS ONLY!

At DrywallTalk.com we cater exlusivly to professional contractors who make their living as a contractor. Knowing that many homeowners and DIYers are looking for a community to call home, we've created www.DIYChatroom.com DIY Chatroom is full of helpful advices and perfect for DIY homeowners.

Redirecing in 10 seconds
No Thanks
terms of service

Already Have an Account?